Books and exhibition catalogues in UQ Library
Use call numbers to browse items on the Library's shelves.
Books on art history are generally located in Central Library and have call numbers starting with N. Books on the topics of photography and photomedia have call numbers between TR640 and TR688.
Large books and exhibition catalogues are kept in the Folio or Quarto section on level 4 of Central Library.
Exhibition catalogues can generally be found through Library Search. However, they may be located in the Fryer Library. Note: You must book an appointment to use this collection.
eBooks
The Library maintains subscriptions to eBooks on a range of topics. You can find eBooks through Library search.
Using eBooks has more information about accessing and reading eBooks through the Library.
Recommended reference texts
General reference
Benezit dictionary of artistsHas over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day.
The Oxford dictionary of art and artists by Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this dictionary contains clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death (in many instances correcting misinformation that has found its way into other sources).
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art by Publication Date: 2009This unique and authoritative reference work contains more than 2,000 clear and concise entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Its impressive range of terms includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries.
The Oxford Companion to Western Art by Publication Date: 2001This book focuses on Western art rather than the whole of world art, concentrating primarily on painting, sculpture, and the graphicarts, leaving architecture to be covered separately.
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by Publication Date: 2005In addition to a wide range of technical information,the book encapsulates in concise and readily accessible form the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice, organized both thematically and geographically.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography, 3-Volume Set by Publication Date: 2005The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography explores the vast international scope of twentieth-century photography and explains that history with a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary manner.
Australian art reference
Aboriginal Artists Biographical Dictionary by Publication Date: 2004The book includes a brief biography and relevant exhibition entries for artists who painted from the beginning of the 1970's to the first decade of the 21st Century.
A Companion to Australian Art by Publication Date: 2021A Companion to Australian Art is a thorough introduction to the art produced in Australia from the arrival of the First Fleet in 1788 to the early 21st century.
The Cambridge Companion to Australian Art by Publication Date: 2011From rock art to Australian modernism, from bark paintings to the Heidelberg School, The Cambridge Companion to Australian Art provides a wide-ranging overview of the movements, themes and media found in Australian art.
Digitised publications from other institutions
- Getty Research PortalAccess digitised art history publications, rare books, and related literature.
- MetPublicationsA portal to the Met's comprehensive publishing program with 1,200 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.