Art history

The Library has a number of special collections which include rare or unique materials which have been preserved for their importance to Queensland and Brisbane's cultural history.

Examples from the collection include:

The UQ Art Museum collection comprises:

• Australian art from the colonial era to present
• Nat Yuen Collection of Chinese Antiquities
• Pacific and international art
• National collection of artists' self-portraits.

You can search the collection and request access to the UQ Collection study room.

SLQ has art and design collections covering a broad range of topics.

You can search the:

Become a member for free to borrow books and access their electronic resources.

SLQ also host a range of exhibitions and related programs highlighting art and material from their collection.

The GUAM collection includes work in a diverse range of media including painting, sculpture, work on paper, screen printing, activist posters and Australia's foremost collection of early Australian video art.

You can search their collection and online resources.

QAGOMA is Queensland's primary collecting institution for Australian and International Art. It has a particular focus on art from Asia-Pacific and established the Asia-Pacific Triennial in 1993.

You can search art in the collection, artists in the collection and Asia Pacific Art Papers.

NGA is Australia's primary collecting institution for Australian and International Art.

You can search the collection and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art.