Library Guides: Veterinary science: Tutorials, videos and image libraries

Interactive tutorials

Abdominal embryology of the canine abdomen
Animal ethics dilemma
Requires free registration
Dermatology cases
EMS driving licence
LIVE, Royal Veterinary College
Gametogenesis and fertilization
Placement preparation CALs
LIVE, Royal Veterinary College
ProQOL
Professional Quality of Life tool to measure compassion satisfaction, compassion fatigue and burnout.
Recombinant DNA
Virtual vet: Bovine necropsy module
Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
WikiVet
One of the largest collections of online veterinary educational resources.

Videos

Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine - resources for veterinarians
Includes the free online textbook eClinPath (clinical pathology), Cornell consultant (diagnostic support system in which you can search by specieas, diagnosis, signs and symptoms) and Testing guidelines (knowledge base of guidelines and information spanning hundreds of tests, and sorted by disease and species). Includes sample clips and images on avian diseases and necropsy, bovine diseases and necropsy and peripheral nerve blocks in dogs.
Veterinary neuroanatomy and clinical neurology
Video clips of conditions, with diagnosis, designed to accompany the text 'Veterinary neuroanatomy and clinical neurology'.
IMV imaging
This company sells ultrasound equipment. Their site includes videos, articles, booklets and tables on pregnancy and ultrasound in sheep and cattle.
BCF technology - abdominal ultrasound in small animals
This company sells ultrasound equipment. It has short instructional videos demonstrating abdominal ultrasound. Look under 'Product Support > Learning Resources' on website.
BCF technology - cardiac ultrasound
This company sells ultrasound equipment. Instructional videos on cardiac ultrasound exams. Look under 'Product Support > Learning Resources' on website.
Small animal handling video series
From the University of Edinburgh.
Normal canine video series
From the Virginia Tech, Veterinary Teaching Hospital. Includes head and neck canine exam, thoracic canine exam, abdominal canine exam and urogenital rectal canine exam.
Versatile Vet
Contact staff in The Hub or your Course Coordinator to obtain the login for this series. Includes a series of videos on various species including Australian wildlife.

Ensure you are logged in to "http://login.uq.edu.au/" before searching on UQ computers. You can search for individual videos.

If you have trouble viewing the clips, try alternate browser. Flash is needed to play the clips.

Images

3D models of animal skeletons
Includes pythons, echidnas and Tasmanian devils.
Atlas of veterinary clinical anatomy
Canine and feline systems
Bovine theriogenology images
Complete Anatomy
3D human anatomy tool. Best used via the App Store, Google Play or Microsoft Store. Login using your UQ email address. Includes clinical video animations, and virtual dissection tools.
Digital slide box
Dissection of the horse
Labelled dissection images designed to accompany 'Rooney's guide to the dissection of the horse'.
The drost project reproduction guides
Click on 'Guides' in the left panel to go to bovine, bubaline, caprine, equine, ovine, porcine or canine images
Imaging anatomy (University of Illinois)
A basic atlas of normal imaging anatomy of domestic animals.
IMAOIS - the anatomy of veterinary imaging
Selected free resources
IVALA Learn
Use a VIN login to access free content for students. Includes 3D anatomy, flashcards and multiple choice quizzes.
Online Veterinary Anatomy Musem
Species include dog, cat, cow, horse, sheep, bird, pig and rabbit.
Veterinary carnivore anatomy
University of Minnesota

Materials held only in the library

At the UQ Gatton Library, ask to use a CD drive to run CD-ROMs that won't run on the library workstations.

You may need this to access the following CD-ROM based software: