Introduction
This page contains a range of resources compiled for Biomedical Sciences Honour's students to assist with developing searching and research skills.
For information resources such as databases, websites, and protocols, please explore the other pages in this guide or consult our subject guides in Science, Health, Medicine, and Behavioural Sciences.
Other useful guides for Honours students include:
-
Data visualisationBasics of data visualisation - what it is, techniques, how to create visualisations, tools and software.
-
Find quality informationHow to find quality information for academic purposes, including databases, specific information formats, Google Scholar and the web, research alerts and evaluating information.
-
Literature reviewsPlanning your search strategy and how to find, store, organise, evaluate and critique information for your literature review.
-
Tools and techniques guidesGuides for specific tools, research techniques, or finding different types of scholarly, health and technical information.
-
Guides for researchers, teaching staff and HDR studentsGuides to using researcher systems (including UQ eSpace), managing teaching resources and for Higher Degree by Research students.
Books
-
Planning a career in biomedical and life sciences byPublication date: 2014
-
Postgraduate handbook byPublication date: 2018This handbook is intended for postgraduate students and their supervisors. The author has travelled the postgraduate journey (PhD, MPH and PDHE) and experienced all the challenges and difficulties that most postgraduate students are likely to encounter.
-
The zebrafish in biomedical research byPublication date: 2019
-
Thesis and dissertation writing in a second language: A handbook for students and their supervisors byPublication date: 2019Ideal guide for non-native speaker students and their supervisors working on writing a thesis or dissertation in English. Considering the purposes of thesis and dissertation of writing alongside writer/reader relationships, this book uses accessible language and practical examples to discuss issues that are crucial to successful thesis and dissertation writing.
-
Research and writing skills for academic and graduate researchers byPublication date: 2022These modules are for academic and higher degree researchers who want to develop and extend the skills required in the contemporary research environment.
Writing and formatting
The best way to understand the requirements for a successful thesis is to study some examples of recent theses from your discipline. Use the instructions for finding UQ theses to locate theses in the Library Search.
Workshops
- Word: Creating a Structured Thesis (CAST) teaches you how to format efficiently in Microsoft Word. Find upcoming sessions on the training page.
- Writing workshops and online courses are offered by the Graduate school.
- Student Support’s workshops on research writing, presentations and peer writing support.
Guides
Critique the literature
Critiquing the literature involves looking at the strength and weaknesses of the paper and evaluating the statements made by the authors.
Books and resources on reading critically
-
CASP ChecklistsCritical appraisal tools designed to be used when reading research. Includes tools for Qualitative studies, Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies and Clinical Prediction Rule.
-
How to read critically - business and managementFrom Postgraduate research in business - the aim of this chapter is to show you how to become a critical reader of typical academic literature in business and management.
-
Learning to read critically in language and literacyAims to develop skills of critical analysis and research design. It presents a series of examples of `best practice' in language and literacy education research.
-
Critical appraisal in health sciencesSee tools for critically appraising health science research.
-
How to read and critique a scientific research article
by
Publication date: 2014This guidebook provides a structured approach to reading a research article, guiding the reader step-by-step through each section, with tips on how to look out for key points and how to evaluate each section.
