Key evidence-based practice databases
- SpeechBITESpeechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.
- PubMed Clinical QueriesEvidence-based searching on the Medline database. Provides fast access to reliable clinical studies.
- Cochrane LibraryUp-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- OTSeekerContains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy
- PEDro : Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseA free web-based database which has been developed to give physiotherapists and others access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy
- UpToDateUpToDate is designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice at the point of care.
- TRIP : Turning Evidence into PracticeAn amalgamation of databases of hyperlinks from evidence-based sites around the world
Critical appraisal tools
- Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP)This set of eight critical appraisal tools are designed to be used when reading research, these include tools for Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative Studies and Clinical Prediction Rule.
- CEBM: Centre for Evidence Based MedicineThe Centre for Evidence-based Medicine was established in Oxford as the first of several UK centres with the aim of promoting evidence-based health care. The CEBM provides free support and resources to doctors, clinicians, teachers and others interested in learning more about EBM.
Books
How to Read a Paper: the basics of evidence-based medicine and healthcarePublication Date: 20196th ed
A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care by Publication Date: 2013A simple introduction to evidence-based practice in the field of health and social care
Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions by ISBN: 9780729542555Publication Date: 2017-07-06
Evidence-Based Rehabilitation by Publication Date: 2013
Qualitative Research in Evidence-Based Rehabilitation by Publication Date: 2003
What is EBP?
Evidence-based practice (EBP) is "...the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values".
Sackett, David L. BMJ 1996;312:71-72 (13 January)
- Glossary of EBM TermsBMJ Best practice
Related guides
- Evidence-based practiceLocating best evidence: A step by step approach