Introductory resources
Modern Spain: 1808 to the Present by Publication Date: 2017Modern Spain: 1808 to the Present is a comprehensive overview of Spanish history from the Napoleonic era to the present day. Places a large emphasis on Spain's place within broader European and global history.
Spain by Publication Date: 2011This offers a broadly chronological survey of Spanish history from the Visigoths to the present, examining Spain’s unique role in the larger history of Western Europe.
A History of Latin America To 1825 by Publication Date: 2011Presents a comprehensive narrative survey of Latin American history from the region's first human presence until the majority of Iberian colonies in America emerged as sovereign states c. 1825. With new content on the history of women, gender, Africans in the Iberian colonies, and pre-Columbian peoples.
A History of Modern Latin America by Publication Date: 2016Examines the diverse and interlocking experiences of people of indigenous, African, and European backgrounds from the onset of independence until today. It analyzes the major and minor events that shape history, the triumphs and defeats, and the everyday lives of people of varied classes and racial and ethnic backgrounds.
Specialised databases
- LatAm-studies full-text onlineLatAm-Studies full text online is a database service dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of research on Latin America and the Caribbean, including journals and other academic content. It brings together full-text reports on 46 countries. Coverage includes all countries in South America, Caribbean, Central America and Mexico. Subjects covered include business, government, economic, and social issues.
- Historical abstractsHistorical Abstracts indexes articles covering the history of world from the period 1450-present (excluding United States and Canada).
- International medieval bibliographyA database of journal articles on the European Middle Ages (c.450-1500).
- JSTORThe JSTOR archive of digitised full text journals, covering arts and sciences but does not include current issues.
- CLACSO - Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de America Latina y el CaribeA free Spanish-language resource with full text sources from Latin America and the Caribbean. Source documents include books, articles, theses, conference proceedings and working papers.
- Arts and humanities citation indexA multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers a large number of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals.
Browsing books in the Library
A UQ Library search using the phrase Spanish history or Latin American history will display the library holdings on this topic. You can limit your results by content type, subject terms, publication date, and language using the filters on the right.
For specific countries, search the name of the country followed by the word history e.g. Mexico history.
Find books on Spanish history in the Central Library at call numbers DP1 to DP402.
Find books on Latin American history in the Central Library at call numbers F1201 and F3799.
Searching tips
- Plan your searchFive steps to better search results.
- Searching in databasesAdvice on how to focus your search.
- Find journal articlesExplains different types of journals and how to find journal articles.
- Peer-reviewed journal articlesCheck if an article is peer reviewed.