Finding journal articles
To find journals articles use:
- Library Search
- Databases. See the list below
- Google Scholar
Use academic (also known as scholarly) journal articles. Look for:
- references within the article
- reference lists or bibliographies
- often will have abstract, methods, discussion or conclusion
Databases
- PsycInfoProvides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database includes literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
- ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
- Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- CAS SciFinder-nWorld's largest collection of chemistry and related science information. Search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references. Note: Before using SciFinder for the first time you must REGISTER in order to create a personal user name and password using the instructions in the link.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA full text database covering multiple disciplines such as life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences and humanities.
- JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments):Neuroscience is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes scientific research in video format. Streaming videos illustrate scientific experiments and methodology.
How to search in databases
- Creating a database search strategy5 basic steps to follow when constructing a database search strategy.
- Searching in databasesAdvice on how to focus your search.