A fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources. Criticism and reference resources include KnowledgeNotes; Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1920-) and articles from over 180 literature journals
Available for the first time online, Oxford’s scholarly editions provide trustworthy, annotated primary texts for scholars and students. OSEO currently includes writers active between 1485 and 1901, plus Classical Latin poets, historians, and dramatists — from Jane Austen, Jeremy Bentham, Catullus, and Charles Dickens through to Virgil and Wordsworth.
Content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives and consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Simultaneously search or browse across the following archives: Times Digital Archive, 17th-18th century Burney collection newspapers, 19th century British Library newspapers. Parts 1 and 2, TLS historical archive, Illustrated London news historical archive, Economist historical archive, Listener historical archive
Complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. These manuscripts can be read and explored in conjunction with the BCMSV database, which includes first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content and bibliographic references for over 6,600 poems within the collection
From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125 000 English titles from the period 1473-1700.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape offers access to literary sources for scholars and students studying William Wordsworth and the Romantic period. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of the poet and the wider social, political and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries.
The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
Read newly commissioned articles contributed by more than 60 leading experts on Victorian and Romantic literature that illuminate the historical, social and political context behind key literary works.