AustLit is an authoritative database of Australian literature and storytelling, indexing and describing Australian content published in a range of print and electronic information sources. AustLit provides information on creative and critical Australian literature works relating to Australian authors and literary organisations, with biographical and bibliographical information, full text, exhibitions and rich online content. AustLit is also the host of BlackWords, providing access to a vast record of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and their publications, as well as a range of other datasets.
Australasian Literature brings together creative works from throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Starting in the 1930s and spanning up to the present, it includes works from Indigenous Australians, Maori, Pacific Islanders, and female voices. It pairs primary-source literature with supplementary materials - including author interviews, documentaries, scholarly writings, and other related multimedia.
Coverage: from 1930s onwards
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writing and authors
Find texts by First Nations authors in the Library's curated collections:
BlackWords records information about the lives, careers, and works of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and storytellers and the literary cultures and traditions that formed and influenced them.
This Companion emerges as a part of that reinvigoration, considering anew the history and development of Australian literature and its key themes, as well as tracing the transition of the field through those critical debates. It considers works of Australian literature on their own terms, as well as positioning them in their critical and historical context and their ethical and interactive position in the public and private spheres.
This international collection of eleven original essays on Australian Aboriginal literature provides a comprehensive critical companion that contextualizes the Aboriginal canon for scholars, researchers, students, and general readers.
The Cambridge Companion to the Australian Novel provides a clear, lively, and accessible account of the novel in Australia. The book begins with novels by literary visitors to Australia and concludes with those by refugees. In between, the reader encounters the Australian novel in its splendid contradictoriness, from nineteenth-century settler fiction by women writers through to literary images of the Anthropocene, from sexuality in the novels of Patrick White to Waanyi writer Alexis Wright's call for a sovereign First Nations literature.
Published by Melbourne University Publishing. Primarily as a literary magazine, Meanjin reflects the breadth of contemporary thinking, be it on literature, other art forms, or the broader issues of the times.
Published by Queensland Writers' Centre. Explores literature, publishing and writing in the age of digital media. With articles written by bloggers, publishers and authors, Writing Queensland is the publication for the aspiring writer.
This site has many ebooks by Australian writers, or books about Australia. There is a diverse range; from the journals of the land and sea explorers; to the early accounts of white settlement in Australia; to the fiction of 'Banjo' Paterson, Henry Lawson and many other Australian writers.