Databases for journal articles and guidelines
Designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice at the point of care. Off campus access is restricted to UQ students. A good source for dietary and nutritional recommendations and guidelines.
Contains clinically-oriented, evidence-based summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by physicians, medical students, nurses, pharmacists, physical therapists and other health care professionals. A good source for dietary and nutritional recommendations and guidelines.
Databases to find journal articles on Nutrition and Dietetics are listed on the Key Resources tab.
More resources
To find further information on food science and nutrition, see our Food Science and Nutrition guide.
- Australian Dietary GuidelinesTo ensure we can make healthy food choices, we need dietary advice based on the best scientific evidence. This Guideline seeks to offer the best advice on dietary patterns that promote optimal health and wellbeing for the generally healthy Australian population.
- Australian Food Composition DatabaseThe Australian Food Composition Database is a reference database that contains data on the nutrient content of Australian foods. It is referred to as a reference database because it contains mostly analysed data. Only a small proportion of data in the database come from other sources such as recipe calculations, food labels, imputing from similar foods or by borrowing from other countries.
Selection of books
William's nutrition for health, fitness & sport / by Publication Date: 2020Nutrition for Health, Fitness and Sport uses a question-answer approach. In addition, the questions are arranged in a logical sequence, the answer to one question often leading into the question that follows. Where appropriate, cross-referencing within the text is used to expand the discussion.
Preventive Nutrition by Publication Date: 2016The authors have created the most comprehensive and up-to-date review of the nutritional strategies available for the prevention of disease and the promotion of health through nutrition.
Present Knowledge in Nutrition by Publication Date: 2020Present Knowledge in Nutrition, Eleventh Edition, provides an accessible, highly readable, referenced, source of the most current, reliable, and comprehensive information in the broad field of nutrition.
Nutrition guide for physicians and related healthcare professionals by Publication Date: 2022Nutrition Guide for Physicians is a desktop reference guide on nutrition and its clinical implications for health and disease through the lifecycle.
Handbook of clinical nutrition and dietetics by Publication Date: 2022
To find more books on nutrition and dietetics, use Library Search.
Websites
- Nutrient Reference Values
- NHMRC
- Dietitians Australia
- Food Standards Australia New Zealand
- Choice
- NIH Office of dietary supplements
- Linus Pauling Institute Micronutrient Information Centre
- Food Watch
- Healthy Food Guide
- Nutrition Australia
- WHO Food Safety
- American Society of Nutrition
- The Internation Union of Nutrition Science