Library Guides: Standards: Find standards

Australian standards

Standards Australia is Australia's national standards organisation. They are involved in adopting and developing International standards and assessing and approving Australian standards.

Current and draft Australian standards are available via:

Intertek Inform (formerly SAI Global / Australian standards online)
Search for Australian Standards by Standard number or keyword. Full text standards are in PDF format. You will need to register in order to view and download documents from this database. Printing requires Acrobat Reader 4.5 or later. Downloaded Standards expire after 24 hours.

View Download / Print Australian standards has more information.

International, British and European standards

International Organization for Standardization (ISO) - develops International Standards with standards organisations in member countries, including Australia.
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) - provides a standards and assessment platform for International Standards for electrical and electronic goods.
British Standards Institution (BSI) - develops British and International Standards.
European Standards (EN) - are developed by three European Standards Bodies for member countries of the European Union.

Access British and available International standards via:

BSOL : British standards online
Full texts of current and draft British Standards, BSI-adopted European and international standards, handbooks, Codes of Practice, Guidelines and glossaries. May be printed or downloaded.
IEEE Xplore digital library
Provides full-text access to IEEE and IEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and current IEEE Standards.

Industry standards

For standards developed for industry bodies and professional associations, check their websites for freely available standards or try the following databases:

ASTM compass
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a collection of standards and technical engineering information, books and journals. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
ASCE standards
American Society of Civil Engineers standards

Official methods of analysis of AOAC International
Official Methods of Analysis (OMA online) of AOAC International is a source of analytical methods for both agricultural and food products used worldwide. It collects chemical and microbiological methods and consensus standards.

Other standards

ASTM - ASTM International

Formerly known as the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of international voluntary consensus standards.

BSI - UK National Standards Body
DIN - Deutsches Institut für Normung
ANSI - American National Standards Institute
Techstreet - Indexes standards from over 350 standards organizations.

If the standard you require is not available through library databases or sources listed above request document delivery