Library Guides: Research data: Specialised resources

Subject specific data repositories

Listed below are a selection of data repositories which store and make accessible research data from different disciplines. The lists are not exhaustive, and you should refer to a repository directory for a broader selection of suitable repositories for your data.

Biology and life sciences

Dryad
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable.
Gene Expression Omnibus
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
ArrayExpress
The ArrayExpress Archive is a database of functional genomics experiments including gene expression where you can query and download data collected to MIAME and MINSEQE standards. Gene Expression Atlas contains a subset of curated and re-annotated Archive data which can be queried for individual gene expression under different biological conditions across experiments.
Openneuro
MRI, PET, MEG, EEG data
Protein Data Bank (PDB)
An Information Portal to Biological Macromolecular Structures
Atlas of Living Australia
Information on all known species in Australia aggregated from a wide range of data providers. Contains more than 50 million occurrence records, based on specimens, field observations and surveys, enriched by additional information including molecular data, photographs, maps, sound recordings and literature.

Social sciences and humanities

Physical sciences

Crystallography open database
Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers
PubChem
TERN
Australian Antarctic Data Centre
PANGAEA
PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research.
National Climactic Data Centre