History: Asia

Searchable collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia - featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Coverage from 1864 to 1922.

Provides digital facsimile images of works on economics and business published between 1450 and 1850. Full-text searching allows researchers access to material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.

CAJ contains several subject-based Chinese journal collections. UQ has access to full-text articles in: Literature/History/Philosophy, Economics/Politics/Law, and, Education/Social Science. These broad subject areas are further broken down into more specific collections

Features primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. These documents include government reports, diplomatic correspondences, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, and NGO papers.

Historical Abstracts indexes articles covering the history of world from the period 1450-present (excluding United States and Canada).

Based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London.

Contains images of primary source material taken from libraries and archives worldwide. Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceania and South Asia are covered. Also included are five thematic sections with essays by leading scholars.

Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource is of value to those teaching or researching the history of south Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.