Databases
- ScopusA database which enables you to search for articles, book chapters and conference papers in a wide variety of disciplines.
- Web of ScienceA peer reviewed literature database covering the sciences, arts and humanities and social sciences. Links to full text papers.
- Australian public affairs full text (APAFT)Indexes journal articles from Australian titles in the social sciences and humanities disciplines.
- BioOneThe BioOne Digital Library is a community-based platform that provides global distribution for more than 580 journals and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- GreenFileTopics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- GeoRef (via EI)GeoRef covers the geosciences and indexes over 3000 journal titles as well as books, maps, reports, most US Geological Survey publications, theses and dissertations. Includes information from Geoscience Australia. Accessed via the EI Engineering Village platform. Click to proceed to full text access where available.
- WorldWideScienceA federated search database of national and international scientific tools and portals. Not all results are open access. For some full text articles check Web of Science or Scopus.
- Wiley digital archivesSearch for primary source documents documenting the history of regions and cultures using manuscripts, maps and photographs from the Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) and the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland.
- NearMapThis resource consists of high quality PhotoMaps over Australian cities and towns that are updated monthly. You can use the historical capture tool to compare an area eg vegetation, waterways or solar panel use against images taken over 10 or more years previously where available.
Reference books
Key reference books for definitions and background information to help you get started with your assignments and research projects.