Finding information for assessments and research
This section covers:
- Understanding your topic
- Identifying keywords
- Using Library Search
- Where to start your reading
Understand your topic
Before you start your research it is useful to spend a bit of time on analyzing your topic.
This involves:
- Reading the question carefully to understand what the task requires.
- Summarizing the topic question in your own words
- Doing some background reading on your topic to familiarize yourself with the subject. Suitable resources for background reading include lecture notes, text books, encyclopedias and specialist dictionaries. Check out the Engineering subject guides for links to useful reference books. Wikipedia can be a starting point as well but do not include Wikipedia sources in your reference list.
More about Topic Analysis
Identifying keywords
To conduct an effective search for information you must first identify keywords that will find the information you need.
- Brainstorm your topic
- Create a list or word-cloud of the main subject words associated with your topic
- Include additional keywords that express similar ideas or spelling variations (synonyms)
- Focus - choose specific terms rather than general concepts
- Use formal / industry vocabulary rather than everyday language. Your background reading will help you identify appropriate terminology.
More about Planning your search
Searching with Library Search
This video shows how to use Library Search to find information.
Where to your start reading
Use Library Search to find a book on your topic
- Watch the Using Library Search video on this page then go to the Library website to find a book
- Enter two or three keywords in the Library Search box. Use the main subject word(s) and a second or third keyword to provide context, eg. bridge construction bamboo. There is no need for a sentence, question or punctuation
- Repeat the search if necessary using different keywords
- Select a relevant book for background reading
- If the book is in print, check the location and borrow it. If it is in electronic, read it online
- As you read take note of useful terminology which could be used as keywords in later searches.
Example:
You want information about materials used in bridge building. If you enter the term "bridge building" as your search it will be too general to find useful results. You need to add an additional keyword or two to provide focus. You might, for example, want to consider a particular type of material , e.g. bamboo. Your search would now look like this: "bridge construction" AND bamboo
This section covers:
- Suitable information for assignments at university
- What is 'peer-review'
- Finding a peer-reviewed journal article
Source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/78211992@N05/8511178883/lightbox/
Suitable information for assignments at university
Information for academic assignments must come from appropriate sources.
These include:
- Academic or peer reviewed journal articles - find these through Library Search.
- Government & professional reports - find these on the internet using Google Advanced search. See Searching Google for Grey Literature
- Standards, patents and prior art.
Do not use newspaper or popular magazine articles
Avoid websites that lack professional credibility and authority
Ensure sources are up to date
What is 'peer-review'
At Uni you are expected to use research articles from academic journals.
Academics and researchers communicate the results of their research in articles which are published in academic journals. You may have heard of "Nature" or "The Lancet". These are high quality scholarly journals where leading researchers publish their findings.
Scholarly articles are often referred to as ‘peer reviewed’ articles because they are reviewed by subject experts for academic rigour and quality prior to getting published. Scholarly and ‘peer reviewed’ articles always contain scholarly references and a bibliography.
Finding a peer-reviewed journal article
To find peer reviewed articles in Library Search, first select Journal Articles from the drop down menu and enter your keywords in the search box. On the right hand side of the results list select Show only > "Peer-reviewed journals". To read an article click the Available Online link.
Try this search:
Go to UQ Library Search, click on the down arrow in the "Library Search" box and select Journal Articles. Copy the keywords below into the empty search field. Do not use punctuation or sentence format.
water management "Northern Australia"
- Refine your results to Peer reviewed journals only. How many results did you get?
- Refine by Publication date for recent articles
- Select Science & Technology in the Subject filter for results relevant to the engineering discipline
- Check the number of results again.
Congratulations! Now you know how to search for relevant peer reviewed articles!
More about Peer reviewed journal articles
This section covers:
- Using databases to find journal articles
- Using Google effectively
- Improving your searching techniques
- Evaluating information
Using databases to find journal articles
Databases are electronic collections of information that are searchable using keywords.
They provide access to discipline specific research papers published in academic journals and specialized content such as reports or conference papers.
Databases are available through the Library. Select "Databases" from the Search dropdown menu in Library Search and enter the name of the database in the search box, eg Scopus
Further information: Read about searching in databases to learn how to use databases to find articles.
Which database should i use to find journal articles on my topic? (YouTube, 1m 47s)
Here are two databases to try
- ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
- Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Using Google effectively
You can use Google for some types of information.
While you shouldn't rely on Google as your primary source of information for assignments, it can be useful for finding research reports that are not available in scholarly publications.
Read Web Searching for information on how to find information from government agencies, non-government and professional organizations. This is called "Grey Literature" Then go to Google and try for yourself.
More about Grey Literature.
Google Scholar - Use Google scholar, in addition to Library search and Databases. Enable View @ UQ Library link to get full text.
Improving your searching techniques
You may not be satisfied with your first attempt at finding information.
Here are some tips to improve your searches:
- Successful searching is an iterative process - if you don't find "good" articles the first time try again using different keywords
- Check your spelling - incorrect spelling or typos will retrieve few or no results
- Using AND between search terms will find articles containing both words, i.e., fewer but more relevant results, eg. (jetty AND fishing) = 66 peer reviewed articles in Library Search
- Using OR between the same terms eg. (jetty OR pontoon) = 2,793 peer reviewed articles. Using OR to combine terms of similar meaning will increase results to find articles containing either or both of the words
- Use quotation marks around phrases to search for the exact phrase and increase the relevancy of the results, e.g. "water resources". This only works for commonly used word combinations
- A single useful article can lead to many more - have a look at the references or citing articles as they will often be relevant as well.
More about search techniques.
Evaluating information
Critical evaluation is integral to the research process.
Use this to determine whether the information you have found is appropriate and relevant to your topic. It is especially important for information found on the Internet.
You should consider:
- Does the website have a reputable author / organisation?
- What is the site’s purpose?
- Who is the intended audience?
- Does it provide contact details or links to further information?
- Does it have a date?
More about evaluating information.
This section covers:
- Writing and formatting your report
- Referencing your sources
- UQ Library referencing style guides
Writing and formatting reports
Report writing is different from essay writing. It is important to know how to write and format an engineering report correctly. Use these report writing guides to learn how.
- MEA Report Writing guideReport writing guide for engineers [PDF]
- ENGG1100 Report Writing GuideReport writing guide for ENGG1100 students
Referencing your sources
Referencing is the term used for the attribution of all sources used in your work. It is important to reference correctly to avoid plagiarism. There are severe penalties for plagiarism.
Author-date referencing involves acknowledging someone else's work or ideas with a citation (author and date) in the text and a full bibliographic reference in a list at the end of the document.
There are many different referencing styles. In ENGG1100 you have been recommended to use APA 7th citation style.
More about Referencing