Education

Books are useful for research because they:    

• Give in-depth coverage of a topic
• Often provide background information on a topic
• Are used to get an overview of a topic
• Demonstrate how a research topic relates to broader, narrower and related issues
• Lead readers to other related books and reference sources through their bibliographies.

Search Library Search using keywords or titles to find books in the Library's collection.

Browse the General Collection at the following call numbers:-

• L7-991 Education (General)
• LA5-2396 History of education
• LB5-3640 Theory and practice of education
• LC8-6691 Special aspects of education, including inclusion and diversity

Browse the Curriculum Collection located in Central Library on Level 4.

Watch Borrowing and returning books (YouTube, 3m 30s) to find online and physical books via the Library. Learn how to locate a call number and find the book on the shelf. You can borrow and return physical books using our automatic return shelves or via the return chutes.

Use Library Search to find physical items in the Curriculum Collection.This collection contains resources that can be used by UQ School of Education students to prepare for and use during their professional experience, as well as to support their coursework. 

Search by keyword, title or author, then refine the results by selecting the Collection filter of 'Curriculum'.

Consult reference works to get a broad overview of your topic and to identify key concepts, theories and researchers in the field. 

Some reference works are featured below. The list is not extensive, and you can find other available reference materials in our collection by searching in Library Search - combine a topic keyword with the material type descriptor who would like, for example: 'educational leadership handbook'.

 The Library provides access to a range of eBooks.