Browsing books in the Library
Find books about Chinese literature in the Central Library at call numbers PL2250 to PL3208.
Find books about Chinese literature written in Chinese in the Chinese Language Resource Collection, located within the Central Library at call numbers PL2250 to PL3208.
Introductory resources
The Cambridge History of Chinese Literature: Volume 1, To 1375 by Publication Date: 2010Together with its companion volume, this text tells the story of Chinese writing as an instrument of the state and as a medium for culture.
The Cambridge history of Chinese literature Vol.2, from 1375 by Publication Date: 2010The chapters, organized chronologically, treat not only poetry, drama, and fiction, but also historical writing and other prose forms.
Global Chinese literature by Publication Date: 2010From language to music, literature to popular culture, minority politics to internal diaspora, theories of sinography to China's quest for the Nobel Prize, this volume brings together leading and new voices in the study of Chinese literature from a variety of comparative and intra-national perspectives.
A Companion to Modern Chinese Literature by Publication Date: 2015This wide-ranging Companion provides a vital overview of modern Chinese literature in different geopolitical areas, from the 1840s to now. It reviews major accomplishments of Chinese literary scholarship published in Chinese and English and brings attention to previously neglected, important areas, such as late Qing, Sinophone, and ethnic minority literature.
Specialised databases
Search these databases for more specific articles related to Chinese literature studies.
- China : culture and societyThe database provides access to the pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University. Mostly in English and published between c. 1750 and 1929. These rare pamphlets form part of one of the deepest and most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world.
- MLA international bibliographyIndexes materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.