Browsing books in the Library
Find books about Chinese history in the Central Library at call numbers DS733 to DS779.32
Find books about Chinese history written in Chinese in the Chinese Language Resource Collection, located within the Central Library at call numbers DS733 to DS779.32
Searching tips
- Plan your searchFive steps to better search results.
- Searching in databasesAdvice on how to focus your search.
- Find journal articlesExplains different types of journals and how to find journal articles.
- Peer-reviewed journal articlesCheck if an article is peer reviewed.
Introductory resources
The Cambridge History of China - Series by Publication Date: 1978-1991The series covers the grand scale of Chinese history from the 3rd century BC, to the death of Mao Tse-tung. The history embodies both existing scholarship and extensive original research into hitherto neglected subjects and periods. The contributors, all specialists from the international community of Sinologists, cover the main developments in political, social, economic and intellectual life of China in their respective periods.
A History of China in the 20th Century by Publication Date: 2023This book provides a complete history of China spanning the nineteenth and twentieth centuries which also includes the first two decades of the twenty-first century. Now, as the Sino-US trade conflict makes dramatic impact on a post-COVID global economy, readers have the need for a fresh understanding of how China came to be what it is today.
Superpower Interrupted: the Chinese history of the world by Publication Date: 2020This global history as the Chinese would write it gives brilliant and unconventional insights for understanding China's role in the world, especially the drive to "Make China Great Again." We in the West routinely ask: "What does China want?" The answer is quite simple: the superpower status it always had, but briefly lost.
Specialised databases
Search these databases for more specific articles related to Chinese History.
- Asia and the West : Diplomacy and Cultural ExchangeFeatures primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. These documents include government reports, diplomatic correspondences, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, and NGO papers.
- JSTORThe JSTOR archive of digitised full text journals, covering arts and sciences but does not include current issues.
- Historical abstractsHistorical Abstracts indexes articles covering the history of world from the period 1450-present (excluding United States and Canada).
- Foreign Office files for ChinaThe complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 to 1980.
- China : trade, politics and culture online 1793-1980Based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London.
- Asia-studies full-text onlineFulltext and statistical studies which APEC conducts on Asian economies - finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, education and women's studies. Includes industry-specific studies on the internet, technology, telecommunications, tourism.