Reusing content from this guide
Databases
Use these key databases to find journal articles, physical properties and spectra:
- CAS SciFinder-nThe most extensive collection of articles and patents on chemistry and related topics. Search for substances, reactions, retrosynthesis tools to aid in predicting routes to novel compounds using AI, nucleotide and protein sequences, patents and journal articles. Note: Before using SciFinder for the first time you must REGISTER in order to create a personal user name and password using the instructions in the link.
- ReaxysAn index of articles on chemical structures, properties, spectra (IR, NMR, M, R and UV) and reactions. Data is taken from the Beilstein, Gmelin and patent chemistry databases to help identify new chemicals and assist in drug development.
Watch a video on how to search a structure or chemical in Reaxys
Watch a video on how to search for reactions in Reaxys
- Web of ScienceAn index of the top peer reviewed articles covering the sciences, arts and humanities and social sciences. Links to full text.
- ScopusAn index of peer reviewed articles, book chapters and conference papers in a wide range of disciplines. Links to full text.
- PubMedThe leading index of articles on the biomedical field.
Safety resources
- Chemgold III (chemwatch)University of Queensland preferred database of Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
- Sigma AldrichA chemical supplier with useful MSDS. Search for the chemical of interest in the top search box.
- Bretherick's handbook of reactive chemical hazardsThis handbook looks at loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents.
- Sax's dangerous properties of industrial materialsFor compounds with simple names (e.g., benzene), searching by CAS registry number may be the most efficient search.
- CRC handbook of laboratory safetyThe ideal reference book to OSHA safety standards and government regulations.
- Laboratory safety for chemistry studentsThe RAMP system (recognise hazards, assess risks, minimise risks, prepare for emergencies) takes centre stage in this book. No hazard that may be encountered in the lab is neglected. Includes informative chapters on biological and radiation safety.
Spectra
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS (IR, M, NMR, R)SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.
- NIST chemistry webBook (IR, M, UV)The NIST Chemistry WebBook database provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. The NIST Chemistry WebBook contains: Thermochemical data for over 7000 organic and small inorganic compounds. It includes 16K gas phase IR spectra, 15K mass spectra, and 1.6 UV/Vis spectra. (Some of the data is only available by subscription only)
- PubChem (IR, M, NMR, R, UV)Open database of millions of chemical substances, with spectral information for about 300K substances (found in the Chemical and Physical Properties section of the substance record). The data is sourced from several organizations, primarily SpectraBase.
- The Aldrich library of NMR spectraQD96.N8 P68 1983 (Print only)
- The Aldrich library of infrared spectraQD96.I5 P67 1981 (Print only)
Properties - basic
- Merck index onlineThe Merck Index is the definitive reference work for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics onlineHandbook of tables of data describing physical properties and more
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- Lange's handbook of chemistryThis book includes facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry.
Crystallography
- Crystallography Open DatabaseOpen access collection of crystal structures from organics, organometallics, inorganics, and minerals - +390,000 entries. Structures can be viewed in JSmol and downloaded (.cif).
- ASM Alloy Phase Diagram DatabaseDatabase of 40,300 binary and ternary alloy phase diagrams, from over 9,000 inorganic systems. With associated crystal and reaction data.
- International tables for crystallographyThis series is the definitive resource and reference work for crystallography and structural science.
- SpringerMaterialsSearch for crystal structures by chemical name. These can be displayed in interactive 3D.
Software
- MestreNova - Mnova NMRNMR software
Get started
Access recommended books, journals, databases and websites for your assignments and research in chemistry including chemical properties and spectra.
Referencing help
Digital Essentials
Complete the Digital Essentials modules to help you quickly build your digital skills for study and work. Learn about online UQ systems, find tools for specific tasks and develop skills for using digital resources.
Complete these modules to build your study and assignment skills:
- Information essentials — types of information, finding and evaluating online information, fake news
- Types of assignments — written, video, audio, presentations, posters, blogs, 3D models, coding
- Write, cite and submit — plagiarism, referencing and referencing styles, EndNote, submission requirements
Instructional videos
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
A collection of online training videos and tutorials focusing on software and skills in IT, design and business.
CLIPS - Communication learning in practice for scientists
JoVE- Journal of visualized experiments (including biochemistry videos)
Historical primary sources in chemistry
- The Sceptical chymist : or Chymico-Physical Doubts & ParadoxesPublication Date: 1661
- Opticks, or, A treatise of the reflections, refractions, inflections and colours of light byPublication Date: 1730
- Geschichte der Chemie (The history of chemistry)Publication Date: 1843
- Handbuch der organischen Chemie byPublication Date: 1893
Related guides
- Clinical guidelines and trialsFind clinical guidelines from both Australia and overseas and published or unpublished clinical trials.
- Laboratory protocols and methodsSets of instructions that allow scientists to recreate experiments in their own laboratory.
- PatentsHow to find patents from many IP offices around the world.