Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies

The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) is the national research and collecting institution for information and research about the cultures and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, past and present.

The Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research (CAEPR) aims to undertake social science research on Indigenous policy and development that is excellent by the best international and disciplinary standards and that informs intellectual understanding, public debate, policy formation and community action.

The Lowitja Institute site provides access to LIt.search which provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database.

Website for the UQ Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Unit. Includes links to current research and publications.

Reconciliation Australia was established in 2001 and is the lead body on reconciliation in the nation. We are an independent not-for-profit organisation which promotes and facilitates reconciliation by building relationships, respect and trust between the wider Australian community and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

A national, inclusive, multidisciplinary hub and spokes model network committed to facilitating and establishing Indigenous-led research.

The AIATSIS Code outlines four principles that underpin ethical Australian Indigenous research; these are: Indigenous self-determination, Indigenous leadership, impact and value, and sustainability and accountability. Each principle frames a set of responsibilities for researchers, institutions and review bodies when conducting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander research.

The two revised guidelines work with the National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research and the Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research and provide more specific information about ethical conduct in research with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples and communities.

Australian Indigenous education research. From the Australian Council for Educational Research.

Developed by the Australian Parliamentary Library, this resource provides links to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander affairs related resources.

This website celebrates the achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and is a gateway to Australian Government information on Closing the Gap.

An innovative Internet resource that aims to inform practice and policy in Indigenous health by making research and other knowledge readily accessible.

The Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission website related to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice.

Australian Policy Online is a research database and alert service providing free access to full text research reports and papers, statistics and other resources essential for public policy development and implementation in Australia and New Zealand.

The Third National Indigenous Languages Survey (NILS3) was completed in 2019. The results have been published in the National Indigenous Languages Report (2020). The two previous reports were in the form of the First and Second National Indigenous Languages Surveys (NILS1 and NILS2).

This 'Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples' page acts as a portal to Australian Bureau of Statistics and other organisations' data and articles about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Data and statistical publications relating to Indigenous Australians.

Includes a Dashboard (providing the most up-to-date information available on the targets and indicators) and an Annual Data Compilation Report.

The Map of Aboriginal Australia was created by David Horton and is based on language data gathered by Aboriginal Studies Press, AIATSIS and Auslig/Sinclair, Knight, Merz, (1996). This online map attempts to represent all language groups of the Indigenous people of Australia.

Identifies sites of frontier massacre of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people across Australia from 1788 to 1930.

Hear 50 words in Australian Indigenous languages

Find out what is plagiarism and how to avoid it in your assignments.

Learn how to critically evaluate information resources.

Techniques and resources to find specific information formats.