Zoology

How to search smarter using Google, Google Scholar and more.

A module on how to find copyright-free images for your assignments

Information on all known species in Australia aggregated from a wide range of data providers. Contains more than 50 million occurrence records, based on specimens, field observations and surveys, enriched by additional information including molecular data, photographs, maps, sound recordings and literature.

We lead Australia’s response to climate change and sustainable energy use, and protect our environment, heritage and water

The Australian Biological Resources Study provides online delivery of taxonomic and biological information on flora, lichens, algae, bryophytes, fungi and protists.

Maps, imagery and data on the coastal zone, environmental management, heritage conservation and wildlife and ecosystems in Queensland.

OzCoasts provides comprehensive information about Australia's coast, including its estuaries, coastal waterways and climate change impact. It is managed by the Seabed Mapping and Coastal Information section at Geoscience Australia.

Includes articles by UQ academic staff; browse by topics such as mammals, reptiles, animal behaviour and more.

Free and open access to biodiversity data

Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives

bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting prepriints here, authors can make their findings immediately available to the scientific community.

SORA is the world's first and largest open access ornithological publications archive. SORA provides access to an extensive library of ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.

An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation with student use in mind. It includes thousands of species accounts and descriptions of levels of organization above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families.

ALA provides access to a wealth of information about Australia’s biodiversity.