Skip to Main Content

Religion

This guide will help you find reference resources, books, journal articles and websites related the major world religions and new religious movements.

Religion: general

The Library provides access to a number of introductory guides for the study of religion:

Encyclopedia of global religion by Mark Juergensmeyer
Publication date: 2011
The encyclopedia of religious phenomena by J. Gordon Melton
Publication date: 2007

Religion: specific religions

The Library provides access to a range of material on specific religions:

Hinduism and Buddhism

Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Knut A. Jacobsen (Editor-In-Chief); Helene Basu (Editor); Angelika Malinar (Editor); Vasudha Narayanan (Editor)
Publication date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
Publication date: 2003

Abrahamic religions

The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization by George Thomas Kurian (Editor)
Publication date: 2011
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by John L. Esposito (Editor)
Publication date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Judaism by Alan J. Avery-Peck (Editor); Jacob Neusner (Editor); William Scott Green (Editor)
Publication date: 2000

African religions

Encyclopedia of African Religion by Molefi Kete Asante (Editor); Ama Mazama (Editor)
Publication date: 2008

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion by Charles Taliaferro (Editor); Elsa J. Marty
Publication date: 2010
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by E. A. Livingstone (Editor)
Publication date: 2013
A Dictionary of Hinduism by W. J. Johnson
Publication date: 2009

Other religious traditions

New religious movements

The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements by James R. Lewis (Editor); Inga B. Tollefsen (Editor)
Publication date: 2016

Magic & the supernatural

Authors of the impossible: the paranormal and the sacred by Jeffrey J. Kripal
Publication date: 2010
Witchcraft: the basics by Marion Gibson
Publication date: 2018

Chinese religions

The Encylcopedia of Confucianism
Publication date: 2003
The Encyclopedia of Taoism (online) by Fabrizio Pregadio; Greenway
Publication date: 2007
The Wiley-Blackwell companion to Chinese Religions by Randall L. Nadeau (Editor)
Publication date: 2012

Buddhism

Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
Publication date: 2003
A dictionary of Buddhism by Damien Keown
Publication date: 2008
Historical dictionary of Buddhism by Carl Olson; Charles S. Prebish
Publication date: 2009

Hinduism

Brill's encyclopedia of Hinduism (online) by Knut A. Jacobsen (ed.)
The Blackwell companion to Hinduism by Gavin Flood (Editor)
Publication date: 2008
A Dictionary of Hinduism by W. J. Johnson
Publication date: 2009
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism by Jeffery D. Long
Publication date: 2020

Islam

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world

The Oxford dictionary of Islam

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, v.2 M-Z by Richard C. Martin (Editor)
Publication date: 2003
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān by Jane Dammen McAuliffe (Editor)
Publication date: 2002
Historical Dictionary of Islam by Ludwig W. Adamec
Publication date: 2001
Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalism by Mathieu Guidère
Publication date: 2012