Library Guides: Special Education: Multimedia

Digital video databases

Education in video
Online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
EduTV
Contains documentaries and educational programs from a range of Australian and overseas sources.
Counseling and therapy in video. Volume I This link opens in a new window
Provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The videos in this collection have been drawn from the catalogs of Microtraining Associates, Psychotherapy.net, and the University of Manchester Department of Psychiatry
Counseling and therapy in video.VolumeII
Counseling and therapy in video features training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by counselors, psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers. Volume II both updates and expands upon the first collection, with special emphasis on contemporary topics such as family therapy, child therapy, geriatric therapy, play therapy, weight control and eating disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder, narrative therapy, social construction, art therapy and more cognitive behavioral
Counseling and therapy in video.VolumeIII
Counseling and therapy in video series will includes training videos, reenactments, and actual therapy sessions conducted by counselors, psychologists, psychiatrists, and clinicians. Volume III presents a grounding in the theoretical modalities of counseling and psychotherapy, while expanding into new and emerging areas such as social media, veterans, cyber-bullying, mindfulness, and neuroscience.

EduTV -- documentaries and other Australian broadcast TV

Example:

This series, "Employable Me (Australia)" (2018) is available through EduTV.

"Meet the extraordinary job seekers who aim to prove that having a neurological condition shouldn't make them unemployable. Follow the challenges faced by Kayla who has Tourette syndrome, and Tim and Rohan who both have autism."

Streaming video programs

To find online videos available through UQ Library, do a Keyword search of Library Search, limited to "Video and audio", and "Available online". Here are 3 examples:

Welcome 2 my deaf world. SBS, 2006.
Follows deaf Australian teenagers Bethany and Scott through the last few months of their schooling at the Victorian College for the Deaf, the only school that teaches in sign language from Prep to Year 12.
Educating Peter. SBS, 1994.
A Down's syndrome sufferer, attends 3rd Grade in a normal school for the first time. From the beginning of his first day to the end of his first year, we see the challenges faced and met by his teacher, himself and his fellow pupils.
A School in the Bush
As a little girl, Scarlett Finney, now 20, didn’t think of herself as a girl with a disability, she was just a girl. But at 7, Scarlett’s choice to go to, what she called “A school in the bush”, turned into a nightmare. The Hills Grammar rejected her but the Finney’s took the complaint all the way to the Federal Court. They not only won, but it set a precedent for other students with disability.