UQ Harvard referencing style - print version

The “Harvard style” is not an actual style, it is not associated with Harvard University - see their statement.  There is no official manual for the "Harvard style" but it has historically been associated with the author-date style. There are many variants which follow the author-date convention, including the American Psychological Association (APA) and the Chicago Manual of Style.

The "UQ Harvard" guide is based on the 6th edition of the Style manual for authors, editors and printers (Snooks & Co. 2002).

It is important to understand the basics of referencing and why it is important. 

A referencing style is a set of rules on how to acknowledge the thoughts, ideas and works of others in a particular way. Different types of sources eg. books, articles, each have a specific format, determined by the referencing style you are using.

Referencing is a crucial part of successful academic writing, avoiding plagiarism and maintaining academic integrity in your assignments and research.

Watch Introduction to referencing (YouTube 3m43s) to learn about the basics of referencing.

Many types of publication examples have been provided in this guide. If you cannot find the example you need, you can:

• consult the Style manual for authors, editors and printers, 6th edition. (print only edition)
• type the title of the item into Library Search to see if it has a suggested citation
• view the reference lists of articles in publications that use Harvard referencing such as American journal of business  (please note there are many variations to Harvard referencing)
• adapt the rules of a similar publication type to the item
• consult other institutions’ style guides
• consult the Instructions to authors, if writing for a journal
• consult with your tutor or course coordinator.

• In an author-date style, in-text citations usually require the name of the author(s) and the year of publication in parentheses; e.g. (Jones 2017)
   
• If the author's name is included within the sentence, only the date (and page reference if appropriate) is included in parentheses and it is best placed directly after the author's name. e.g. Taylor (2015) purports that ...
   
• A page number is included if you have a direct quote, paraphrase a passage or you want to direct the reader to a specific page or pages. 
   
• When including a page number, place a comma after the year and use the abbreviations p. (for a single page reference) and pp. (for multiple pages); e.g. (Smith 2016, p. 105) or (Harris 2013, pp. 131-132)   
   
• Place the in-text citation at the end of a sentence, before the concluding punctuation; e.g. ... 'anxiety about the cultural effects of globalisation' (Smith 2016, p. 105). Or, if the citation refers to only part of a sentence, place it at the end of the clause or phrase to which it relates; e.g. This was not the case prior to 1974 (James 2001), however  ....  
   
• If there is no date provided for a source, the abbreviation n.d. may be used; e.g. (Jones n.d.) or (Brown n.d., pp. 49-50)
   
• Separate multiple citations by a semi-colon; e.g. (Brown n.d., pp. 49-50; Smith 2016, p. 105)

• A direct quotation reproduces word-for-word material directly quoted from another author’s work, or from your own previously-published work.
• If the quotation is fewer than 30 words, incorporate it into a paragraph and enclose the quotation in single quotation marks. Use double quotation marks for a quote within a quote (see examples below). 
• If the quotation comprises 30 or more words, display it in an indented, freestanding block of text (set in a smaller type), without quotation marks. At the end of a block quotation, cite the quoted source and the page number in parentheses, after the final punctuation mark.
• For a direct quotation, provide the author, year, and specific page number(s) for that source. For material without page numbers, give the paragraph number. Include complete bibliographic details in the reference list.
• Ending a sentence: place the terminating punctuation mark (eg. full stop, question mark, exclamation mark)  before the closing quotation marks but outside when they are part of the carrier statement. see - Short quotation: examples 2 and 3

Examples:

• Short quotation:
  • Example 1:  Perlman writes that 'the need or striving for a sense of control is generally considered to be healthy' (2005, p. 41).
  • Example 2:  Perlman (2005, p. 41) writes that 'the need or striving for a sense of control is generally considered to be healthy.'
  • Example 3:  Did you hear her say 'It's a lovely day'?
     
• Long quotation:

Francois Weil has charted the ways in which genealogy began as a “private quest for pedigree” amongst status-seeking settlers in colonial America until the late eighteenth century, becoming increasingly egalitarian and more widely practised among the middle class and free African Americans from the antebellum era. (Evans & Clarke 2017, p. 169)

An indirect citation or secondary source is when the ideas of one author are published in another author’s text but you have not read or accessed the original author’s work.

A reference list contains details of all sources cited in text.

• A reference list is arranged alphabetically by author. If an item has no author, it is cited by title, and included in the alphabetical list using the first significant word of the title.
• A reference list is generally placed at the end of a work.
• Commas are used to separate each item of the reference/citation. 
• If you have more than one item with the same author, list the items chronologically, starting with the earliest publication.​
• For electronic sources, use angle brackets (<>) to isolate the web address/URL from the rest of the reference.

A bibliography includes all sources consulted for background reading, even if they are not cited in the document. The same method of presentation is used for both a reference list and a bibliography.

References

Albanese, A (Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government) 2009, Fairer compensation for air travellers, media release, 29 January, Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government, Canberra, viewed 30 January 2009, <http://www.minister.infrastructure.gov.au/releases/2009>.

Australian Government Publishing Service 1987, Commonwealth printing and publishing manual, 2nd edn, A.G.P.S., Canberra.

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare 2010, Child protection Australia 2008-09, Child welfare series no. 47. Cat. no. CWS 35, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, Canberra, viewed 06 November 2012, <https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/child-protection/child-protection-australia-2008-09/contents/table-of-contents>.

Be, know, do: leadership the Army way 2004, Jossey-Bass, San Francisco.

Berkman, RI 1994, Find It fast: how to uncover expert information on any subject, HarperPerennial, New York.

Bernstein, D 1995, ‘Transportation planning’, in WF Chen (ed.), The civil engineering handbook, CRC Press, Boca Raton, pp. 231-61.

Bhattacharjee, M 1998, Notes of infinite permutation groups, Lecture notes in mathematics no.1698, Springer, New York.

Bourassa, S 1999, ‘Effects of child care on young children’, Proceedings of the third annual meeting of the International Society for Child Psychology, International Society for Child Psychology, Atlanta, Georgia, pp. 44-6. 

Bowden, FJ & Fairley, CK 1996, ‘Endemic STDs in the Northern Territory: estimations of effective rates of partner change’, paper presented to the scientific meeting of the Royal Australian College of Physicians, Darwin, 24-25 June.

Cengel, YA & Boles, MA 1994, Thermodynamics: an engineering approach, 2nd edn, McGraw Hill, London.

Donahue-Wallace, K & Chanda, J 2005, 'A case study in integrating the best practices of face-to-face art history and online teaching', Interactive Multimedia Electronic Journal of Computer-Enhanced Learning, vol. 7, no. 1, viewed 30 January 2009, <http://imej.wfu.edu/articles/2005/1/01/index.asp>.

Huffman, LM 1996, ‘Processing whey protein for use as a food ingredient’, Food Technology, vol. 50, no. 2, pp. 49-52.

Jull, G, Sterling, M, Fallah, D, Treleaven, J & O'Leary, S 2008, Whiplash headache and neck pain: research-based directions for physical therapies, Churchill Livingstone, Edinburgh.

Kamal, AA 2010, 1000 solved problems in modern physics, Springer Berlin Heidelberg, Berlin, viewed 3 April 2014, DOI 10.1007/978-3-642-04333-8, (SpringerLink).

Pike, ER & Sarkar, S (eds) 1986, Frontiers in quantum optics, Adam Hilger, Bristol.

Pring, R 2004, Philosophy of educational research, 2nd edn, Continuum, London.

Reid, DH, Parsons, MB & Green, CW 1989, Staff management in human services: behavioral research and application, Charles C. Thomas, Springfield.

Sjostrand, S (ed.) 1993, Institutional change: theory and empirical findings, M.E. Sharpe, Armonk, N.Y.

Willmott, WF 2006, Rocks and landscapes of the national parks of central Queensland, Geological Society of Australia, Queensland Division, Brisbane.

Confirm with your course coordinator or check your course profile before using Artificial Intelligence (AI) in your assessment. Some assessment pieces do not permit the use of AI tools, while others may allow AI with some limitations.

Any permitted use of AI for assessment must be acknowledged appropriately. Your course coordinator will provide guidance on how to reference the use of AI tools. Some possible examples include:  

• citing or referencing in the text or list of references
• inclusion in your methodology
• an appendix including a full transcript of any prompts and AI-generated responses.

AI models sometimes produce incorrect, biased or outdated information. Verify the accuracy of AI-generated content using reliable sources before including it in your work.

Additionally, there may be legal or ethical issues to consider when using AI. Works created by non-humans are not eligible for copyright protection under Australian law. If you intend to publish work incorporating AI-generated content, check the publisher guidelines about what is allowed.

When interacting with AI models, you should be cautious about supplying sensitive information, including personal, confidential or propriety information or data.

Find out more about using AI tools in your studies.

Where an assignment requires ChatGPT to be cited, you must reference all the content from Generative AI tools that you include. Failure to reference externally sourced, non-original work can result in Academic misconduct.

References should provide clear and accurate information for each source and should identify where they have been used in your work.

Content from generative AI is a nonrecoverable source as it can't be retrieved or linked.

Citing generative AI content for specific referencing styles

1. Check the referencing style used in your course for specific guidelines for how to cite generative AI content.
2. If there are no specific guidelines, we recommend that you base it on the reference style for personal communication or correspondence.

The following sections have examples of how to cite generative AI for different styles.

Based on APA Style guidance.

In-text

Author of generative AI model, Year of version used

Example:

(OpenAI, 2022)

OpenAI (2022)

Reference list

Author of AI model used. (Year of AI model used). Name of AI model used (Version of AI model used) [Type or description of AI model used]. Web address of AI model used

Example:

OpenAI. (2022). ChatGPT (Dec 20 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/

The full transcript of a response can be included in an appendix or other supplementary materials.

Visit How to cite ChatGPT for more information.

Interim advice and guidance

Essentially use rule 7.12 that covers written correspondence. This is included in the bibliography (rule 1.13). Include the name of the creator and recipient first.

OpenAI, ChatGPT to Fred Jones, Output, 24 February 2023.

Note:

^Number Output from [program], [creator] to [recipient], [full date].

¹Output from ChatGPT, OpenAI to Fred Jones, 24 February 2023. 

Text explaining the prompt that was used can be included in the footnote. The full detail can also be included in an appendix.

¹ Output from ChatGPT, OpenAI to Fred Jones, 24 February 2023. The output was generated in response to the prompt, ‘What is the history of the Law School at The University of Queensland’: see below Appendix C.

In-text citation or note

^Number.Originator of the communication, medium, Day Month, Year.

¹ OpenAI's ChatGPT AI language model, response to question from author, 7 February, 2023.

Guidance based on How do I cite generative AI in MLA style? from the official style website.

In-text citation

(Short form Title of source) 

(“Describe the symbolism”) 

Work cited

“Title of source” prompt. Name of AI Tool, version, Company, Date content was generated, General web address of tool. 

“Describe the symbolism of the green light in the book The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald” prompt. ChatGPT, 13 Feb. version, OpenAI, 8 Mar. 2023, chat.openai.com/chat. 

The text of your document must include:

• Type of communication
• Communicator
• Date in this format (Day Month Year)

In an online chat with OpenAI's ChatGPT AI language model (7 February 2023) ...

If you use ChatGPT or other generative AI to help you generate ideas or plan your process, you should still acknowledge how you used the tool, even if you don’t include any AI generated content in the assignment.

Provide a description of the AI tool used, what you did and the date accessed.

Save a copy of the transcript of your questions and responses from the generative AI tool. You can:

• Take a screenshot
• Right click and select Save as to save the webpage file.

Different publishers are taking different approaches to whether generative AI is allowed.

If you are writing for publication, you should check the publisher's information for authors.

For guidance on author variations (no author, many authors etc) please consult the section Book (including author information) as the same rules regarding authors will apply.

​The titles of pieces of legislation should be cited exactly.

There is no need to include legislation or legal authorities in the reference list unless it is important to an understanding of the work. In such cases, set the list apart from the main reference list under the relevant subheading.

• For legislation, use the subheading 'Legislation' and list pieces alphabetically.
• For legal authorities or case law, use the subheading 'Legal authorities' and list cases alphabetically.

For further details, consult Snooks & Co. (rev.) 2002, Style guide for authors, editors and printers, pp. 224 - 228, Milton, Qld, John Wiley & Sons.

Bills are cited in the same way as Acts, however, the Bill title and year should not be italicised.

Example:

Major Events Bill 2014 (Qld)

Delegated legislation (including regulations, rules and by-laws) are cited the same way as Acts, however the title and year should not be italicised and the pinpoint will use different abbreviations, for example: r. for a single regulation; rr. for multiple regulations. 

Example:

Penalties and Sentences Regulation 2005 (Qld) r. 7(1)

The titles of Acts of the parliaments of other nations should not be presented in italics.

Example:

Digital Economy Act 2017 (UK)

For how to cite other unpublished materials, refer to Snooks & Co, 2002, Style manual for authors, editors and printers, 6th ed., John Wiley & Sons, Milton, Qld. (pp 207-208). Examples covered include:

• Theses - see Thesis tab of this guide
• Unpublished papers and abstracts presented at conferences, seminars and meetings - see the Conference paper tab of this guide