Journals
You may be required to use peer-reviewed articles for an assignment. Peer-reviewed articles are published in scholarly or academic journals which are found by searching in Library Search or in databases.
Some key journals for Physics:
Key databases
Databases contain articles with a specialised, discipline-specific focus and are recommended for finding research papers. For searching tips, see Searching in Databases.
Key databases for physics:
-
arXiv.orgarXiv.org is a repository of electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance, which can be accessed online. Produced by Cornell University.
-
ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
-
SpringerMaterialsComprehensive research platform with information on materials, their properties and uses.
-
Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Additional databases
-
ADS Abstract ServiceGateway to the online astronomy and physics literature
-
inSPIREHigh energy physics literature database
-
CAS SciFinder-nWorld's largest collection of chemistry and related science information. Search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references. Note: Before using SciFinder for the first time you must REGISTER in order to create a personal user name and password using the instructions in the link.
Document delivery
Document delivery can be used if your item is not available through the Library. It is free for current UQ students and staff.
Use document delivery to request:
- resources we do not hold in our Library collection
- scanned copies of journal articles and book chapters from our print collection.
To place a request or for more information, visit: