Library Guides: Occupational Therapy: Evidence-based practice

What is evidence-based practice (EBP)?

Cochrane Library
Up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.

OTSeeker
Contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy

PEDro : Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Provides bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy

PubMed Clinical Queries
Evidence-based searching on the Medline database. Provides fast access to reliable clinical studies.

TRIP : Turning Evidence into Practice
An amalgamation of databases of hyperlinks from evidence-based sites around the world
UpToDate
UpToDate is designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice at the point of care.

Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP)
This set of eight critical appraisal tools are designed to be used when reading research, these include tools for Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative Studies and Clinical Prediction Rule.
CEBM: Centre for Evidence Based Medicine
The Centre for Evidence-based Medicine was established in Oxford as the first of several UK centres with the aim of promoting evidence-based health care. The CEBM provides free support and resources to doctors, clinicians, teachers and others interested in learning more about EBM.