Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) is a major source for finding test reviews. The Mental Measurements Yearbook provides the fulltext of expert reviews of tests. The MMY is available at UQ Library online and in print
To find reviews of tests on a particular subject, using the online Mental Measurements Yearbook
- choose a "Test Category", such as Behavior Assessment
- click "Search" to see a list of tests on that subject.
For more specific topics, do a keyword search. For example, a search for "empowerment" will find reviews of tests such as The Empowerment Inventory.
Each record provides a link to the fulltext of the test review.
In the print version of the MMY, use the subject index at the back of each volume to find reviews of tests on a particular subject.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with tests in printPrint copies are available from 1940-2007 - Request via document delivery
- Mental Measurements YearbookProduced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. In addition to MMY this resource includes Tests in Print (TIP) a bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
Reviews in journal articles
Reviews of tests, and other articles which deal with the use of tests in research, teaching, and other applications, are also published in journal articles. Find these articles by searching UQ Library Search or searching the electronic databases for Psychology and Education.
Tip for finding test reviews in both UQ Library Search and individual databases: use an Advanced search. Look for articles where the name of the test appears in the article title.
Useful databases for finding reviews of educational and psychological tests include:
- PsycInfoProvides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database includes literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
- ERICERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.
- A+ educationIndexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of education. Good for Australian information.
- ProQuest education databaseProvides access to full-text professional magazines and journals that address all aspects of K-12 education.
PsycInfo: In Advanced Search type the name of the test in the search box and choose TM Tests & Measures from the drop-down menu. Literature will contain the names of published and unpublished tests and measures mentioned in the source document and whether it is appended to the source document
Books containing test reviews
The most important sources of test reviews are specialised reference publications which provide descriptions and expert reviews of tests. The following are available in the UQ Library:
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment by Publication Date: 2003
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health by Publication Date: 2010
Tests : a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business by Publication Date: 2008
Tests in printPublication Date: 1961-
