Historical news
Photo by Ylanite Koppens on Pexels.
Newspapers are a wonderful resource for historical research. Historians spend long hours browsing through runs of newspapers in paper or microfilm format. Fortunately, there are now some online newspaper archives that simplify this process:
Australia
- National Library of Australia, Historic Australian newspapers, 1803-1954The National Library of Australia, in collaboration the Australian State and Territory Libraries, has digitised out-of-copyright newspapers. Trove collects many historic Australian newspapers, covering 1803 to 1954.
China
- Chinese newspapers collectionReproduction of major Chinese newspapers between 1832 and 1953.
France
- GallicaDigitized collection of Bibliotheque Nattionale de France (can search newspapers Presse)
Germany
- Zeitungsinformationsssystem (ZEFYS)Access to digitized historic newspapers from Germany and other German speaking regions (192 titles)
New Zealand
- Index New ZealandIndexes and abstracts New Zealand and South Pacific journals and newspapers.
- Papers PastProvides access to New Zealand newspapers dating from 1839 to 1945.
United Kingdom
- British Newspaper IndexFreely available index of British newspapers from the 1800s onwards. Users need a subscription to access the full-text of the article.
- Gale news vaultContains a variety of British newspapers and magazines from the 17th century onwards, including The Times and The Sunday Times.
- Times digital archive This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive contains a searchable digital edition of the entire Times newspaper including advertisements and illustrations for the period 1785 to 2014. The Sunday Times is not included.
United States
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- ICON newspaper digitization projectsProvides bibliographic information for over 25,000 newspaper titles.
- ProQuest historical newspapersProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.
Coverage includes:
- The New York Times (1851-2006)
- The Guardian (1821-2003)
- The Observer (1791-2003)
- Washington Post (1877-1993)
- Times of India (1838-2001).
If the newspaper has not been digitised, it might be available in microfilm .