Skip to main content

Laboratory protocols and methods

Laboratory manuals, protocols and methods to recreate experiments.

Protocols and laboratory manuals

Provides a search and retrieval interface to laboratory manuals considered to be the benchmark standard for scientific research methods in a number of different disciplines. 

All techniques are indexed in PubMed and Scopus.

Current protocols in:

Cold Spring Harbor (CSH) protocols is a database of new and classic research techniques, providing a definitive source of research methods in:

  • cell, developmental and molecular biology
  • genetics
  • bioinformatics
  • protein science
  • computational biology
  • immunology
  • neuroscience
  • imaging

You can search CSH protocols by keyword and subject. It includes a searchable recipes section.

  • is a database of online and searchable protocols in life sciences and biomedicine
  • provides step-by-step recipes, that can be executed in a controlled laboratory environment

Springer protocols online is organized into 15 subject collections:

  • Biochemistry
  • Bioinformatics
  • Biotechnology
  • Cancer Research
  • Cell Biology
  • Genetics/Genomics
  • Imaging/Radiology
  • Immunology
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Microbiology
  • Molecular Medicine
  • Neuroscience
  • Pharmacology/Toxicology
  • Plant Sciences
  • Protein Science

Protocols in journals

Methods in cell biology

Each thematic volume provides proven, state-of-art techniques, along with relevant historical background and theory, to aid researchers in efficient design and effective implementation of experimental methodologies. Provides biological methods to study model developmental organisms, organelles and cell systems, as well as comprehensive coverage of microscopy and other analytical approaches.

Methods in enzymology

Issues are devoted to specific technical approaches with emphasis on clear detailed descriptions of protocols that allow them to be reproduced easily.

The background information provided enables researchers to understand the principles underlying the methods; other helpful sections include comparisons of alternative methods giving the advantages and disadvantages of particular methods, guidance on avoiding potential pitfalls, and suggestions for troubleshooting.

Nature methods

Primary research articles focused on novel methods and improvements to tried-and-tested techniques, and overviews of recent technical and methodological developments.

 

Nature protocols

Laboratory protocols for bench researchers presented in a 'recipe' style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures which users can take to the lab and immediately apply in their own research.

 

Protocole Exchange

An open resource where the community of scientists can pool their experimental know-how to help accelerate research. Protocols within Protocol Exchange come from both academic and commercial lab groups. They are not styled, peer reviewed or copy edited, but shared live soon after uploading.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)

JOVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
High-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity.

Access is provided to sections:

JoVE biology
JoVE Neuroscience
JoVE Immunology & Infection
JoVE medicine
JoVE Bioengineering
JoVE biochemistry

Access JoVE videos on your iPhone or Android:

  • free with your UQ access
  • use your UQ email address when you set up your login
  • follow the link in the confirmation email to gain full access to UQ's JoVE subscription on the go