Databases
Use these key databases to find journal articles and other useful information and remember you can search by physiological terminology along with your chosen animal or animal type to narrow your search:
- Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA full text database covering multiple disciplines such as life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences and humanities.
- CSIRO online journalsThis is not a database, it is the journal publishers page and you can search in specific CSIRO titles. Full text journals published by CSIRO Publishing. Australian content. Covers a wide range of scientific disciplines including agriculture, the plant and animal sciences and environmental management.
- CAS SciFinder-nWorld's largest collection of chemistry and related science information. Search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references. Note: Before using SciFinder for the first time you must REGISTER in order to create a personal user name and password using the instructions in the link.
Journals
These are some specific journals on animal physiology accessible through UQ or open access. Don't limit your searching to these, use the databases listed on this page to find articles that may be in scientific journals that aren't identified under the animal physiology heading in UQ's records.
- Frontiers in animal science - animal physiology and managementAn open access international journal, this link will take you to the physiology section
- MDPI - animal physiologyAn open access journal, subset of 'animals'
- PLOS ONEOpen access journals on many science fields
- Open access animal physiologyContent available from 1/1/2009-31/1/2016 only
- The physiological societyWhile focused on human physiology, articles within their journals can cover animal physiology and comparable human systems
Books
Animal behavior by Publication Date: 2022 (eBook)
Animal biology and care by Publication Date: 2014 (eBook)Various physiological systems covered with diagrams
Animal eyes by Publication Date: 2012 (eBook)
Animal locomotion by Publication Date: 2018 (eBook)
Animal physiology by Publication Date: 1991
Animal physiology by Publication Date: 2022
Animal physiology: adaptation and environment by Publication Date: 1997
Biological timekeeping: clocks, rhythms and behaviour by Publication Date: 2017 (eBook)
Biology: life on earth with physiology by Publication Date: 2016
Environmental physiology of animals by Publication Date: 2004 (eBook)
Essentials of animal physiology by Publication Date: 2007 (eBook)
How animals see the world by Publication Date: 2012 (eBook)
Mammalian physiology and behaviour by Publication Date: 2002
Man and animals in hot environments by Publication Date: 2012 (eBook)Animal adaptation to hot environments.
Mechanisms of circadian systems in animals and their clinical relevance by Publication Date: 2014 (eBook)
Nocturnal animals by Publication Date: 2006
Principles of animal communication by Publication Date: 2011
Principles of animal locomotion by Publication Date: 2013 (eBook)
Principles of animal physiology by Publication Date: 2015 (eBook)
Principles of integrative environmental physiology by Publication Date: 1997
Sodium and water homeostasis: comparative, evolutionary and genetic models by Publication Date: 2015 (eBook)
Vertebrate circadian systems by Publication Date: 2012 (eBook)1st edition originally published 1982. While the content relates to the original publication date of 1982, this will provide background reference
Water and the cell by Publication Date: 2006 (eBook)
Websites
- Nature portfolio: animal physiologyRecent research from Nature journal about animal physiology. Access to all journals from this page and also through UQ Library search
- Animal diversity webInformation on communication and perception for numerous animals, search by name.
- Smithsonian museum of natural historyUS collection of natural history resources including images and written content.