Skip to Main Content

Resources for graduates and alumni

This guide is for University of Queensland graduates, alumni and future higher degree by research students. It outlines how you might access books, journal articles and other resources after graduation to re-skill, upskill or continue learning.

What you can use

This guide is a good starting point for graduates, alumni, students intending to return to study or other professionals who wish to upskill, re-skill or continue to gain expert knowledge as they move into employment. Higher degree by research students may use some of the resources listed to prepare their dissertation proposal before they have enrolled at the university. 

You can find information on open access journals and books, as well as ways to become a member of the library.

Library membership for graduates and alumni

Graduates of The University of Queensland can apply for alumni membership of the Library. The first year is free for new graduates.

Services for UQ alumni has information on: 

  • How to apply online
  • Membership benefits, including borrowing items and remote off-campus access to a number of databases
  • Visitor access to collections and databases, including our cultural and historical collections

Membership of other libraries

Depending on where you live, you may be able to become a member of a council or shire library, a state or provincial library or a national library to borrow print and online books and other media, search for archival material in national or state archives, as well as discover open access journal literature for which you do not have to pay to read in full text.

Many employers also provide private library collections for their staff to use to develop their professional knowledge. We recommend that you investigate what online databases and resources may be available to you.

Some professional societies offer subsidised access to journals and proceedings for new graduates.

If you are working for a public hospital in Queensland, you will have access to CKN to continue updating your knowledge and seek evidence based information. For hospital staff of the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, you can request library membership.

In Australia

In Queensland

Other related guides

Resources for Postgraduate and Higher Degree Research Alumni

Completed your degree but looking for funding as an early career researcher? Want to find potential colleagues to collaborate with on future research? Want to get support from other non UQ groups which provide advice to Higher Degree Research students and graduates?