Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vancouver referencing style - printable version

This version of the Vancouver referencing style guide has been set up to allow you to print or save the entire guide.

Printing this guide

How to print or save this guide

To save or print this guide:

Click Print Page at the end of this guide or use your browser's Print tool​

 

This guide was updated on October 29, 2019.

About Vancouver referencing style

What is Vancouver referencing style?

The Vancouver style of referencing is predominantly used in the medical field.

Before you write your list of references, check with your lecturer or tutor for the referencing style preferred by the school.  There may be differences in the style recommended by the school.

 

What is referencing?

Referencing is a standardised way of acknowledging the sources of information and ideas that you have used in your assignments and which allows the sources to be identified.  It is important to be consistent when you are referencing.

Why reference?

Referencing is important to avoid plagiarism, to verify quotations and to enable readers to follow up what you have written and more fully understand the cited author’s work.

Steps in referencing:

  • Record the full bibliographic details and relevant page numbers of the source from which information is taken.
  • Punctuation marks and spaces in the reference list and citations are very important. Follow the punctuation and spacing exactly.
  • Insert the citation at the appropriate place in the text of your document.
  • Include a reference list that includes all in-text citations at the end of your document.

EndNote and Vancouver referencing

Vancouver referencing style in EndNote

Please download the EndNote referencing style  - Vancouver style for UQ from the UQ EndNote Output styles page to format references according to this guide. 

This style will appear with the name Vancouver Superior (1) in the Style box of EndNote and Word.

The styles Vancouver and Sage Vancouver that come automatically with EndNote will create references that will vary slightly from this guide.

Reference list / Bibliography

Difference between a reference list and a bibliography

Reference list:

  • A reference list contains details only of those works cited in the text of the document. (e.g. book, journal article, pamphlet, internet site, cassette tape or film).  These details must include sufficient detail so that others may locate and consult your references.
  • A reference list should appear at the end of your essay/report with the entries listed numerically and in the same order that they have been cited in the text.

Bibliography:

  • A bibliography is a separate list from the reference list and should be arranged alphabetically by author or title (where no author is given) in the Vancouver style.
  • A bibliography lists sources not cited in the text but which are relevant to the subject and were used for background reading.

Spacing between references in a reference list or bibliography:

  • Double line spacing between each citation
  • EndNote only puts a single line space between each citation
  • Check with your school/lecturer what spacing they require
  • Journals using the Vancouver style may also have their own line spacing requirements

Authors

Authors/Editors

  • List all the authors names in the order they appear in the document, webpage or book.
  • Family name is followed by the initials of the authors' first names
  • Each other is separated by a comma
  • Omit degrees, titles and honors following a personal name
  • Place family designations of rank after the initials without punctuation
    • Convert roman numbers to arabic ordinals
    • eg. Vince T. DeVita, Jr becomes DeVita VT Jr
    • eg. John A. Adams III becomes Adams JA 3rd​


​Multiple authors

  • List all the authors in the order they appear
  • Alternatively list the first three authors and add  - et al. eg. Smith AB, Jones CD, McDonald EF, et al.
  • Endnote will list the first six authors and then add  - et al.
  • Always check with your lecturer or the journal's instructions to authors.


 In text citation  - when authors names used:

  • Up to 3 authors eg. Smith, Jones and McDonald reported that .........23
  • More than 3 authors eg. Smith et al24 reports...

No author

  • do not use  - anonymous
  • use editors or translators if present
  • use title of the item if no authors, editors, translators or organisation can be found​

Corporation/Organisation as author

Enter the organisation name in full eg. World Health Organization

Publication date and Copyright date

The copyright date is identified by the symbol ©, the letter "c" or the word copyright before the date.

If no publication date can be found use the copyright date. Precede the copyright date with the letter "c" eg. c2017

​If a publication has a publication date and a copyright date:

  • use publication date 
  • if three or more years separate the publication date and copyright date - use both dates but begin with the publication date eg. 2017, c2007​

URLs

URL's should be entered as they appear on the website.

Do not put a full stop after a URL unless it ends on a forward slash - /,  or it is followed by the DOI number.

In EndNote add the full stop after the URL in the URL field only if it ends in a forward slash.

Place of publication

Place of Publication

  • Place is the city where the book was published
  • Follow US and Canadian cities with the two letter abbreviation for the state or province in brackets eg. Palm Springs (CA). See Appendix E of Citing medicine
  • Follow cities in other countries with the name of the country written out or using the two letter ISO country code in brackets eg.Cambridge (England). See Appendix D in Citing medicine.
     

Multiple places of publication

If more than one place of publication is given, use the first one or the one set in the largest type or in bold.
Do not give multiple places.

Pagination

Reference List:

Begin page numbers with a "p." followed by a space.

  •  p. 123 and p. 123-9

​Do not repeat page numbers unless followed by a letter. 

  •  p. 131-139 should be p, 131-9
  • p. 131A-139A  is correct

Include a letter when it precedes a page number (S for Supplement or A for Appendix)

  • p. S10-8

Roman numerals

  • Keep roman numerals when they are used as page numbers
  • Given them in upper or lower case as they appear in the publication
    • p. XXI-XXII
    • p. xv

Example reference list

1.     Cheers B, Darracott R, Lonne B. Social care practice in rural communities. Sydney: The Federation
        Press ; 2007.

2.     Hofmeyr GJ, Neilson JP, Alfirevic Z, Crowther CA, Gulmezoglu AM, Hodnett ED et al. A Cochrane
        pocketbook: Pregnancy and childbirth. Chichester, West Sussex, England: John Wiley & Sons; 2008

3.     Murtagh J. John Murtagh’s General practice. 4th ed. Sydney: McGraw‐Hill Australia; 2007.

4.     Darwin C. On the origin of species by means of natural selection or the preservation of favoured races
        in the struggle for life [Internet]. London: John Murray; 1859. Chapter 5, Laws of variation.
        [cited 2010 Apr 22]. Available from: http://www.talkorigins.org/faqs/origin/chapter5.html

5.     Australian medicines handbook online [Internet]. Adelaide (S. Australia): Australian Medicines 
        Handbook Pty Ltd;  2000. Paracetamol; [updated 2017 Jul; cited 2017 Nov 10]; [3 screens]. 
        Available from: https://amhonline-amh-net-au.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/.

6.     MIMS online [Internet]. Crows nest (NSW): MIMS Australia; 2017. Betamin; [updated 2017 Nov: 
        cited 2017 Nov 10]; [1 screen]. Available from: https://www-mimsonline-com-au.ezyproxy.library.
        au/Search/AbbrPl.aspx?ModuleName=Product%20Info&searchKeyword=vitamin+b&
        PreviousPage=~/Search?QuickSearch.aspx&SearchType=&ID=21830001_2

7.     Bengtsson S, Solheim BG. Enforcement of data protection, privacy and security in medical
        informatics. In: Lun KC. Degoulet P. Piemme TE, Reinhoff O, editors. MEDINFO 92. Proceedings of
        the 7th World Congress on Medical Informatics. 1992 Sep 6‐10; Geneva, Switzerland. Amsterdam:
        North Holland; 1992. p. 1561‐5. 

8.     Australia. Parliament. Senate. Select Committee on Climate Policy. Climate policy report.
        Canberra: The Senate; 2009.

9.     Diabetes Australia. Gestational diabetes [Internet]. Canberra (ACT): Diabetes Australia; 2015 [updated 
        2015; cited 2017 Nov 23]. Available from: https://www.diabetesaustralia.com.au/gestational-diabetes

10.   The medical profession in the 1990’s [television broadcast]. The MacNeil/Lehrer news hour. 
        New York, Washington D.C.: Public Broadcasting Service; 1993 Oct 11.

In-text citations

In-text citations

  • A citation is an acknowledgement in your text of references that support your work.  It is in the form of a number that correlates with a source in your reference list.
  • In the Vancouver Style, citations within the text of the essay/paper are identified by Arabic numbers in round brackets or Arabic numbers in superscript with no brackets.  This applies to references in text, tables and figures.
  • The identification of references within the text of the essay/paper may vary according to the preferred style of the journal or the preferred style of the department or lecturer.  For example superscript may be preferred when referencing. eg. Example2;
  • The Vancouver System assigns a number to each reference as it is cited.  A number must be used even if the author(s) is named in the sentence/text. e.g. Smith10 has argued that...
  • The original number assigned to the reference is reused each time the reference is cited in the text, regardless of its previous position in the text.
  • When multiple references are cited at a given place in the text, use a hyphen to join the first and last numbers that are inclusive. Use commas (without spaces) to separate non‐inclusive numbers in a multiple citation e.g. (2,3,4,5,7,10) is abbreviated to (2‐5,7,10).
  • Do not use a hyphen if there are no citation numbers in between that support your statement e.g. (1‐2). Use instead (1,2)
  • The placement of citation numbers within text should be carefully considered.  A particular reference may be relevant to only part of a sentence.  As a general rule reference numbers:
    • should be placed outside full stops and commas
    • should be placed inside colons and semicolons
    • the citation number can be place next to the author name where emphasis is place on the author eg. Smith2
    • check with your faculty/school or journal publisher to determine their requirements

Examples without page numbers:

  • There have been efforts to replace mouse inoculation testing with invitro tests, such as enzyme linked immunosorbent assays (57,60) or polymerase chain reaction.
  • Numerous studies(20‐22) have.....
  • Moir and Jessel maintain “that the sexes are interchangeable”.(1)
  • Moir and Jessel maintain “that the sexes are interchangeable”.1

Examples with page numbers:

  • Patients showed no signs of diabetes.1(p23),9
  • Smithers2(pp3,6) reported no sign of... (more than one page cited)
  • Jones (10 pp23‐27) states that...

Examples with authors names in the text of the document

  • Smith's research .......21
  • Smith and Jones22 research .....
  • Up to 3 authors eg. Smith, Jones and McDonald reported that .........23
  • More than 3 authors eg. Smith et al24 reports..

Indirect citation / Secondary source

What is an indirect citation / secondary source

A secondary source/indirect citation is when the ideas of one author are published in another author’s text but you have not read or accessed the original author’s work.

  • In the reference list, provide the details of the author of the work in which you found the quotation or idea - the actual source you looked at.
  • Make it clear in the text of your document that you are quoting a secondary source.
  • If possible always try and find the original work.

Indirect citation / secondary source

Elements of the citation Follow the format of the reference in which you found the indirect citation.

Reference
as secondary source

- Book
- Journal article

  1. Higgins D. Horizons: the poetics and theory of the intermedia. Illinois: Southern Illinois University Press: 1984.
  1. Clements C. The facts about cocaine (drugs), Science and Children [Internet]. 2007 [cited 2010 Apr 20];44(7): 44. Available from: http://www.jstor.org.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/stable/pdf/43174018.pdf
  Higgins1 discusses Newman’s research in his work,..

Clements2 quoted Chandler in his article... 
EndNote reference type Book
Electronic Article

Books

One author

Elements of the citation Author(s) – Family name and initials (no more than 2 initials with no spaces between initials). Title of book. Edition of book if later than 1st ed. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication.
Reference
  1. Butler SW. Secrets from the black bag. London: The Royal College of General Practitioners; 2005.
In-text The book, “Secrets from the black bag”, by Butler1 shows that...
OR
Butlerpurported ...
EndNote reference type Book

Two to six authors

Elements of the citation Author(s) – Family name and initials, multiple authors separated by a comma. Title of book. Edition of book if later than 1st ed. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication.
Reference
  1. Cheers B, Darracott R, Lonne B. Social care practice in rural communities. Sydney: The Federation Press; 2007.
In-text ‘... needed to influence policy.’2

OR

Cheers, Darracott and Lonne have highlighted the fact that ‘...'.2
EndNote reference type Book

More than six authors

Elements of the citation Author(s) – Family name and initials  (no more than 2 initials and no space between initials), Multiple authors separated by a comma. After the 6th author add - "et al." Title of book. Edition of book if later than 1st ed. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication.
Reference
  1. Hofmeyr GJ, Neilson JP, Alfirevic Z, Crowther CA, Gulmezoglu AM, Hodnett ED et al. A Cochrane pocketbook: Pregnancy and childbirth. Chichester, England: John Wiley & Sons; 2008.
In-text Hofmeyr3 states that...
EndNote reference type Book

No author

Elements of the citation Title of book. Edition of book if later than 1st ed. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication.

Note: Begin a reference with the title of the book if no person or organization can be identified as the author and no editors or translators are given. Do not use anonymous
Reference
  1. A guide for women with early breast cancer. Sydney: National Breast Cancer; 2003.
In-text ...do not die from the disease.4
EndNote reference type Book

Multiple works by the same author

Elements of the citation Author(s) – Family name and initials, Multiple authors separated by a comma. Title of book. Edition of book if later than 1st ed. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication.
Reference
  1. Campbell MA. A is for anxiety: A parent’s guide to managing anxious children. Brisbane: Post Pressed; 2007.
  1. Campbell MA. Anthony the shy alien. Brisbane: Post Pressed; 2006.
In-text The main clinical and research interests of Dr Marilyn Campbell.5,6 are focused on...
[if not previously cited]
EndNote reference type Book

Different editions

Elements of the citation Author(s) – Family name and initials, multiple authors separated by a comma. Title of book. Edition of book if later than 1st ed. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication.

Note: Include the edition number after the book title for all editions except the first edition. Abbreviate edition to 'ed.'
Reference
  1. Murtagh J. John Murtagh’s General practice. 4th ed. Sydney: McGraw‐Hill Australia; 2007.
In-text What has become known as the “Bible of General Practice”7 in Australia...
EndNote reference type Book

Edited book

Elements the of citation Editor(s) – Family name and initials, editors. Title of book. edition (if not first) - ed. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication.
Reference
  1. Brooks A, Mahoney P, Rowlands B, editors. ABC of tubes, drains, lines and frames. Malden, Mass.: BMJ Books, Blackwell Pub.; 2008.
In-text In all cases, it is important to note the outer diameter of the tube...8
EndNote reference type Edited book

Chapter in an edited book

Elements of the citation Author(s) of chapter - Family name and initials, Title of chapter. In: Editor(s) of book - Family name and initials, editors. Title of book. edition (if not first). Place of publication: Publishe namer; Year of publication. p. [page numbers of chapter].

Note:- multiple authors/editors always separated by commas
Reference
  1. Rowlands TE, Haine LS. Acute limb ischaemia. In: Donnelly R, London NJM, editors. ABC of arterial and venous disease. 2nd ed. West Sussex: Blackwell Publishing; 2009. p. 123-140.
In-text As discussed by Rowlands and Haine9...
EndNote reference type Book section
 

Chapter in a non-edited book

Elements of the citation Author(s) of book – Family name and initials. Title of book. edition (if not first) - ed. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication. Chapter [chapter number], Chapter title; p. [page numbers of the chapter].
Reference
  1. Speroff L, Fritz MA. Clinical gynaecologic endocrinology and infertility. 7th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams and Wilkins; 2005. Chapter 29, Endometriosis; p.1103‐33.
In-text reference ...due to endometriosis.(10)
...due to endometriosis.10
EndNote reference type Book

NOTE: In the Year field enter the year followed by the Chapter number, Chapter title and pages - eg. 2005. Chapter 29, Endometriosis; p.1103‐33 (Note: include all the punctuation shown – EndNote will put in the full‐stop after the page numbers)

Chapter from an electronic book

Elements of the citation Author(s) of book – Family name and initials. Title of book [Internet]. # edition. Place of Publication: Publisher Name; Year of Publication. Chapter [chapter number], Chapter title. [cited date - year, month abbreviated, day]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Darwin C. On the origin of species by means of natural selection or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life [Internet]. London: John Murray; 1859. Chapter 5, Laws of variation. [cited 2010 Apr 22]. Available from: http://www.talkorigins.org/faqs/origin/chapter5.html
In-text Darwin11 believes that the natural selection...
EndNote reference type Electronic book

Year field: enter -  Publication year followed by the Chapter number and Chapter title eg.1859. Chapter 5, Laws of variation. (include all the punctuation shown)

Electronic book from a full text database

Elements of the citation Author(s) of book – Family name and initials. Title of book [Internet]. # edition. [type of medium - eBook].Place of Publication: Publisher Name; Year of Publication [cited date - year, month abbreviated, day]. Available from: [name of database].
Reference
  1. Macdonald S. editor. Maye’s midwifery 14th ed. [eBook]. Edinburgh: Bailliere Tindall; 2011 [cited 2012 Aug 26]. Available from: Ebrary.
In-text Bartlett12 concludes that...
EndNote reference type Electronic book

Type of medium field: enter -  eBook
 
Date accessed field: enter - date the book was cited eg. 2012 Aug 26

URL field: enter - the name of the database e.g. Ebrary.

Book in a series

Elements of the citation Author(s) – Family name and initials (no more than 2 initials with no spaces between intitials). Title of chapter. In: Editor(s) of book. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher Name; Year of Publication. p. [pages of chapter]. (Series title; vol [volume number]).
Reference
  1. Bennett GL, Horuk R. Iodination of chemokines for use in receptor binding analysis. In: Horuk R, Chemokine receptors. New York (NY): Academic Press; 1997. p. 134‐48. (Methods in Enzymology; vol 288).
In-text The binding of ligand to most seven‐transmembrane (STM) G‐protein‐coupled receptors leads to changes in the coupling of G proteins to the receptor ...(13)
EndNote reference type Book Section

Title of Series = Methods in Enzymology

Pages field: enter  - the pages, series title and volume number in brackets eg. 134‐48. (Methods in Enzymology; vol 288)

Translation of a book

Elements of the citation Author(s) – Family name and initials. Title of book. Name of translator - family name and initials, translator. Edition of book if later than 1st ed. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication.
Reference
  1. Luria AR. The mind of a mnemonist. Solotaroff L, translator.  New York: Avon Books; 1969.
In-text Luria14, discovered that...
EndNote reference type Book

Title field: enter -  Title of book. Name of translator. eg. The mind of the mnemonist. Solotaroff, translator

EndNote will put the full stop at the end of the word - translator

Dictionaries / Encyclopaedias

Dictionary

Elements of the citation Author/editor - family name and initials.  Title of dictionary. edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Year. Title of entry eg. defined word; p. [page number].
Reference
- with author/editor
- without
   author/editor
  1. Stedman TL. Stedman’s medical dictionary. 28th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins;  Apraxia; p.119‐20.
  1. Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. 30th ed. Philadelphia: Saunders; 2003. Encephalomalacia; p. 609.
In-text ‘is defined as...’,1
EndNote reference type Book or Dictionary

Year field: enter -  Publication year. Defined word: p. page numbers. eg. 2006. Apraxia; p.119‐20

Include the full‐stops but do not add a full‐stop after the page numbers. EndNote will put it in.
If using the Dictionary reference type – add the dictionary name to the Dictionary title field

Online dictionary

Elements of the citation

Dictionary title [type of medium eg. Internet]. edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Year. Title of entry; [cited Year Month Day]; [about - number of screens]. Available from: URL or database name
 
Year - use copyright date if no publication date can be found - copyright date has the letter 'c' in front of it - eg. c2017

Cited date:- Year must be done in full, Month is abbreviated to the first three letters of the month

Reference
  1. Merriam-Webster medical dictionary [Internet]. Springfield (MA): Merriam-Webster Incorporated; c2017. Clone; [cited 2017 Oct 4]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/clone#medicalDictionary
In-text clone3 is defined as....
EndNote reference type Electronic book 

Year field: enter  - Publication/copyright year. Dictionary term; [cited date]; [number of screens]
eg. c2017. Clone; [cited 2017 Oct 4]; [about 1 screen]

Encyclopaedia article/chapter - multi volume set

Elements of the citation Author(s) of article – Family name and initials. Title of article/chapter. In: Family name and initials, editors. Title of encyclopaedia. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication. Vol - Volume number p. (page numbers of article/chapter).
Reference
  1. Brookman F. Hair care products. In: McDonough J, Egolf K, Reid JV, editors. The Advertising Age encyclopedia of advertising. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn; 2003. vol 2 p.703‐8.
In-text Brookman4 has advocated that...
EndNote reference type Book section

Specialised health resources

Australian medicines handbook (AMH)

Elements of the citation

Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Sponsor of website/publisher; Year published. Title of section  or defined word; [updated date - year month day; cited date - year month day]. Available from: URL. DOI: (if available)​

Format for date is: 2017 Nov 10  - the month is always abbreviated to the first 3 letters of its name. The day and month can be omitted if not available.

Note: a fullstop is placed after the URL if a DOI follows.

Reference
  1. Australian medicines handbook online [Internet]. Adelaide (S. Australia): Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2000. Paracetamol; [updated 2017 Jul; cited 2017 Nov 10]. Available from: https://amhonline-amh-net-au.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/.
In-text ....... medicines.1 
EndNote reference type

Electronic book

Year field: enter - Year. Title of section: [updated date: cited date]
eg.  2000. Paracetamol; [updated 2017 Jul: cited 2017 Nov 10]

British Pharmacopoeia online

Elements of the citation Author. Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Year published. Title of section  or defined word; [updated date - year month day; cited date - year month day].  Available from: URL. DOI: (if available)
Reference
  1. British Pharmacopoeia Commission. British Pharamacopoeia 2017. [Internet].The Stationery Office (TSO); 2017. St John's Wort; [updated 2017; cited 2017 Nov 13]. Available from: https://www-pharmacopoeia-com.ezproxy.;library.uq.edu.au/bp-2017/herbal-drugs/st--john-s-wort.html?published-date=2016-08-;text=st+johns+wort
In-text St John's Wort2.......
EndNote reference type

Electronic book 

Year field: enter - Publication year. Title of section/definition; [updated year month day; cited year month day]eg. 2017. St John's Wort; [updated 2017; cited 2017 Nov 13]

Cochrane Library

lements of the reference Authors) - Family name & initials.  Title of article. Database name [Internet]. Publication year [cited year month day]; (issue number). Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Coleman T, Chamerlain C, Davey MA, Cooper SE, Leonardi-Bee J. Pharmacological interventions for promoting smoking cessation during pregnancy. Cochrance Database of Systematic Reviews [Internet]. 2015. [cited 2017 Nov 14]; (12). Available from: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com.ezyproxy.library.uq.edu.au/
    doi/10.1002/14651858.CD010078.pub2/ful
In-text ...recommended during pregnancy.3
EndNote reference type Electronic article

Year field: enter - Publication year [cited date - year month day]
eg. 2015 [cited 2017 Nov 14]; - (include the semi colon punctuation)

The database name can also be abbreviated - EndNote abbreviates the database name to Cochrane Database Syst Rev.

Electronic Therapeutic Guidelines Complete (eTG complete)

Elements of the citation Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Publication year. Title of article; [updated date year month day; cited date year month day]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. eTG complete [Internet]. Melbourne (Vic): Therapeutic Guidelines Ltd; 2017. Juvenile idiopathic [updated 2017 Jul; cited 2017 Nov 14]. . Available from: https://tgldcdp-tg-org-au.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/viewTopic?topicfile=juvenile-idiopathic-arthritis&guidelineName=Rheumatology#toc_d1e163
In-text ......in juvenile arthritis.4
EndNote reference type Electronic book

Year field: enter - Publication year. Title of article; [updated date; cited date]
eg. 2017. Juvenile idiopathic arthritis; [updated 2017 Jul; cited 2017 Nov 14]

MIMS Online

Elements of the reference Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Sponsor of website/publisher; Year published. Title of section  or defined word; [updated date - year month day; cited date - year month day].  Available from: URL. DOI: (if available)
Reference
  1. MIMS onine [Internet]. Crows Nest (NSW): MIMS Australia; 2017. Betamin; [updated 2017 Nov; cited 2017 Nov 10]. Available from: https://www-mimsonoine-com-au-ezyproxy.library.au/Search/AbbrPl.aspx?ModuleName=
    Product%20Infor&searchKeyword=vitamin+b&PeviouPage=~/Search?QuickSearch.aspx&SearchType=&ID=21830001_2
In-text Betamin5 is used to....
EndNote reference type

Electronic book

Year field:  enter - Year. Title of section: [updated date: cited date ] - all with correct punctuation 
eg. 2017. Betamin; [updated 2017 Jul: cited 2017 Nov 10]

UpToDate

Elements of the citation Author(s) - Familiy name followed by initials. Title of article. In: editor(s) - family name followed by initials, editor/editors. Database name. [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Publication year. [updated date - year month day; cited date year month day]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Weiss PF. Oligoarticular juvenile idiopathic arthritis. In: Klein-Gitelman M, TePas E, editors.;​UpToDate. [Internet]. Waltham (MA): UpToDate Inc; 2017. [updated 2017 May 23; cited 2017 Nov 14]. Available from: https://www-uptodate-com.ezp3.library.uq.edu.au/contents/oligoarticular-juvenile-​idiopathic-arthritis?source=search_result&search=uveitis&selectedTitle=10~150
In-text ......for successful treatment.6
EndNote reference type Electronic book section

Year field: enter - Publication Year. [updated date; cited date]
eg. 2017. [updated 2017 May 23; cited 2017 Nov 14]

Journal articles

Journal abbreviations

The titles of journals must be abbreviated according to the style used in the the National Library of Medicine's - NLM Catalog: Journals referenced in the NCBI databases.

If you cannot find a particular journal title in the NLM catalog: Journals referenced in the NCBI databases try:

CAS Source Index (CASSI) search tool
ISI journal title abbreviations
Index Medicus - abbreviations of journal titles

Endnote: Journal title abbreviations
To show abbreviated journal titles in your EndNote Vancouver reference list you need to download the Journals Terms List.

Journal article - one author

Elements of the citation Author– Family name and initials. Title of article. Abbreviated journal title. Publication year, month, day (month & day only if available);volume(issue):pages.
Reference
  1. Snowdon J. Severe depression in old age. Med Today. 2002 Dec;3(12):40‐47.
In-text As previously reported,1
EndNote reference type Journal article

Journal article - two authors

Elements of the citation Authors separated by commas – Family name and initials. Title of article. Abbreviated journal title. Publication year, month, day (month & day only if available);volume(issue):pages.
Reference
  1. McInnes D, Bollen J. Learning on the job: metaphors of choreography and the practice of sex in sex‐on‐premises venues. Venereology. 2000;13(1):27‐36.
In-text McInnes and Bollen2 have developed a perspective which identifies ...
EndNote reference type Journal article

Journal article - three to six authors

Elements of the citation

Author(s) – Family name and initials. Title of article. Abbreviated journal title. Publication year, month, day (month & day only if available);volume(issue):pages.

Note: list all 6 authors or alternatively list the first 3 and add "et al"

Reference
  1. Skalsky K, Yahav D, Bishara J, Pitlik S, Leibovici L, Paul M. Treatment of human brucellosis: systematic review and meta‐analysis of randomised controlled trials. Br Med J (Clin Res Ed). 2008; Mar 29;336(7646):701‐4
OR
 
  1. Skalsky K, Yahav D, Bishara J, et al. Treatment of human brucellosis: systematic review and meta‐analysis of randomised controlled trials. Br Med J (Clin Res Ed). 2008 Mar 29;336(7646):701‐4.
In-text By using meta‐analysis, Skalsky et al3... 

Note - after the first author add et al
EndNote reference type Journal article

Year field:enter -  year and date(only if available) eg. 2008 Mar 29

It is now optional where there are more than 3 authors to add et al after the 3rd author
but  EndNote adds “et al” after the 6th author

Journal article - more than six authors

Elements of the citation Author(s) – Family name and initials. Title of article. Abbreviated journal title. Publication year, month, day (month & day only if available);volume(issue):pages.

Note: - It is now optional where there are more than 3 authors to add et al after the 3rd or 6th author.
          - EndNote adds et al after the 6th author
Reference
  1. Hanna JN, McBride WJ, Brookes DL, Shield J, Taylor CT, Smith IL, Craig SB, Smith GA. Hendra virus infection in a veterinarian. Med J Aust. 2006 Nov 20;185(10):562‐64.
OR
 
  1. Hanna JN, McBride WJ, Brookes DL, Shield J, Taylor CT, Smith IL, et al. Hendra virus infection in veterinarian. Med J Aust. 2006 Nov 20;185(10):562‐64.
In-text Hanna et al6 report in this article that...
EndNote reference type Journal article
 

No author

Elements of the citation

Title of article. Abbreviated journal title. Publication year, month, day (month and day only if available);volume number(issue number):pages.

Note: Begin a reference with the title of the article if no person or organization can be identified as the author and no editors or translators are given. DO NOT USE "ANONYMOUS"

Reference
  1. New accreditation product approved for systems under the ambulatory and home care programs. Comm Perspect. 2005 May;25(5):8.
In-text New accreditation has..............8
EndNote reference type Journal article

Journal article - in press

Elements of the citation Authors separated by commas – Family name and initials. Title of article. Abbreviated journal title. Publication year, month, day (month & day only if available);volume(issue). Forthcoming - year of expected publication.
Reference
  1. Rourke E, Hussain R, Buscombe JR, Hilson AJ. Overlying urostomy bag simulating urinary leak in a postrenal transplant MAG3 study. Clin Nucl Med. Forthcoming 2006

    Can include date, volume and issue number if provided
In-text O’Learystates that..
EndNote reference type

Journal article

Journal Title field: enter Forthcoming  and  expected publication year after the journal name. eg. Clin Nucl Med. Forthcoming 2006 or if the volume number and issue number is supplied add Forthcoming and year to the Issue field.

Forthcoming can also include a date if available - eg. Forthcoming 2018 Jun 24.

"Forthcoming" is use instead of "in press"

Electronic journal article without DOI number

Elements of the citation Author(s) - Family name and initials. Title of article. Abbreviated journal title [Internet]. Publication year, month, day (month and day only if available)  [cited date - year, month, day];volume number(issue number):page numbers. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Lemanek K. Adherence issues in the medical management of asthma. J Pediatr Psychol [Internet]. 1990 [cited 2010 Apr 22];15(4):437‐58. Available from: http://jpepsy.oxfordjournals.org/cgi/reprint/15/4/437
In-text According to Lemanek10...
EndNote reference type Electronic article

URL field: enter - URL of the journal’s website (for subscription‐based journals), or the full URL of the article (for articles available free on the web).

Date accessed field: enter - date you looked at this site (ie cited date) eg. 2010 Apr 22. 

Type of Work field: enter - Internet

Electronic journal article with DOI number

Elements of the citation Author(s) - Family name and initials. Title of article. Abbreviated journal title [Internet]. Publication year, month, day (month and day only if available)  [cited date - year, month, day];volume number(issue number):page numbers. Available from: URL. DOI:

Note: - Months are abbreviated to their first 3 letters.
           - if no URL - just enter the DOI number
Reference
  1. Puri S, O'Brian MR. The hmuQ and hmuD genes from Bradyrhizobium japonicum encode heme‐degrading enzymes. J Bacteriol [Internet]. 2006 Sep [cited 2012 Aug 2];188(18):6476‐82. Available from: http://jb.asm.org/cgi/content/full/188/18/6476?view=lo ng&pmid=16952937. DOI:10.1016/j.psychsport.2009.03.009
In-text

Puri and O’Brian (11) argue that ...

or

Puri and O'Brien11 argue that....

EndNote reference type

Electronic article

DOI field: enter - DOI number

Cited date - enter in the Date accessed field as: 2012 Aug 2

Conferences

Conference paper published

Elements of the citation Author(s) of paper – family name and initials. Title of paper. In: Editor(s) Family name and initials, editor(s). Title of conference; Date of conference; Place of conference. Place of publication: Publisher’s name; Publication year. p. Page numbers.
Reference
  1. Bengtsson S, Solheim BG. Enforcement of data protection, privacy and security in medical informatics. In: Lun KC, Degoulet P, Piemme TE, Reinhoff O, editors. MEDINFO 92. Proceedings of the 7th World Congress on Medical Informatics. 1992 Sep 6‐10; Geneva, Switzerland. Amsterdam: North Holland; 1992. p. 1561‐5.
In-text This is well documented in the literature.1,2
This is well documented in the literature.(1,2)
EndNote reference type Book section

Year field: enter - year and date eg. 1992 Sep 6‐10

Conference paper online

Elements of the citation Author(s) of paper - family name and initials. Title of paper. In: Editor(s) - family name and initials, editor(s). Title of conference; Date of conference; Place of conference. Place of publication: Publisher's name; Publication year. p. Page numbers.
Reference
  1. Fallon BJ, Bowles T, Aristeguli I. The effect of gender-role self-stereotypes and social on the relationship between equity and satisfaction. In: Hazelwood ZJ, editor. Connecting research and comparison practice in relationships: conference proceedings [Internet]; 2009 Nov 7-8; Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Australia. Melbourne (Vic): Australian Psychological Society, 2009 [cited 2017 Nov 16]. p. 22-7. Available from: http://search.informit.com.au.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/fullText;dn=203379862897273; res=IELHEA
In-text .....as seen with gender roles.2
EndNote reference type Electronic book section

Year field - enter Year [cited date]; p. page numbers of article
eg. 2009 [cited 2017 Nov 16]. p. 22-7

Book Title field - enter - Title of conference [Internet] Conference date; Place of conference
eg. Connecting research and practice in relationships: conference proceedings [Internet] 2009 Nov 7-8; Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Australia (EndNote will put fullstop at the end of the title)

 

Conference paper unpublished

Elements of the citation Author(s) of paper – family name and initials. Title of paper. Paper presented at: Title of conference; Date of conference - Year Month Date(s); Place of conference.
Reference
  1. Bowden FJ, Fairley CK. Endemic STDs in the Northern Territory: estimations of effective rates of partner exchange. Paper presented at: The Scientific Meeting of the Royal Australian College of Physicians; 1996 Jun 24‐25; Darwin, Australia.
In-text It has been found that endemic STD’s ...(3)
EndNote reference type Unpublished work

Title of Work field: enter  - Title of article. Paper present at: title, date and place of conference
eg. Endemic STDs in the Northern Territory: estimations of effective rates of partner exchange. Paper presented at: The Scientific Meeting of the Royal Australian College of Physicians; 1996 Jun 24‐25; Darwin, Australia (no full stop at the end - EndNote will put this in)

Everything has to be entered in the one field except for the authors.

Conference proceedings

Elements of the citation Editor(s) – family name and initials. Title of book. Title of conference proceedings; Date of conference -  year month day(s); Place of conference. Place of publication: Publisher; Publication year.
Reference
  1. Kimura J, Shibasaki H, editors. Recent advances in clinical neurophysiology. Proceedings of the 10th International Congress of EMG and Clinical Neurophysiology; 1995 Oct 15‐19; Kyoto, Japan. Amsterdam: Elsevier; 1996.
In-text Research supports...(4)
EndNote reference type Edited book

Title field: enter - Title of  book. Title of conference proceedings; Conference date; Place of conference.

Conference proceedings online

Elements of the citation Editor(s) - family name and initials. Title of conference [Internet]; Date of conference - year month day; Place of Conference. Place of publication: Publisher; Publication year. [cited date - year month day]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Muller S, editor. Proceedings of the 10th international conference on head-driven phrase structure grammar [Internet]; 2003 Jul 18-20; East Lansing (MI). Stanford (CA): CSLI Publications; 2003 [cited 2017 Nov 16]. Available from: http://web.stanford.edu/group/cslipublicationsSta/
    cslipublications/HPSG/2003/toc.shtml
In-text ......grammar.5
EndNote reference type Electronic book

Year field: - enter Year [cited date]
eg. 2003 [cited 2017 Nov 16]

Title field: enter - Conference title [Internet]; Conference date; Place of conference
eg. Proceedings of the 10th international conference on head-driven phrase structure grammar [Internet]; 2003 Jul 18-20; East Lansing (MI)

Newspapers

Newspaper article with author

Elements of the citation Author(s) – family name and initials. Article title. Newspaper title (edition of paper eg. Weekend edition). Date of publication – year month (3 letter abbreviation) day: Sect. Location eg. A:12 or Business 5 (5 is the page number) column number if applicable in brackets eg. (col. 1). (Sect = Section)
Reference
  1. Purdon F. Colder babies at risk of SIDS. The Courier Mail. 2010 Mar 8:9.
  1. Robertson J. Not married to the art. The Courier Mail (Weekend edition). 2010 Mar 6‐7:Sect. ETC:15 (col.1).
In-text “many parents did not feed their babies enough”1...

Robertson2 states that…
EndNote reference type Newspaper article

Year field: enter - year and date eg. 2010 Mar 6‐ 7; 2010 Mar 8:9 – note “9” refers to page 9

Section field: enter  - ETC

If have a column number, this will need to be added to the Pages field after the page number eg. 15 (col.1)

If have a newspaper edition add this to the Title field eg. The Courier Mail (Weekend edition)

Newspaper article without author

Elements of the citation Article title. Newspaper title (edition of paper eg. Weekend edition). Date of publication – year month (3 letter abbreviation) day: Sect. Location eg. A:12 or Business 5 (5 is the page number) column number if applicable in brackets eg. (col. 1). (Sect = Section)
Reference
  1. Meeting the needs of counsellors. The Courier Mail. 2001 May 5:22.
In-text The counsellors...3
EndNote reference type Newspaper article

22 is the page number

Magazine article

Elements of the citation Author– Family name and initials. Title of article. Abbreviated journal title. Publication year, month, day (month & day only if available);volume(issue):pages.
Reference
  1. Marano HE. Making of a perfectionist. Psychol Today. 2008 Mar‐Apr;41:80‐86.
In-text The findings of the research,(4)...
EndNote reference type Electronic article

Year field: enter - year and full date including months if provided

Electronic newspaper article on the internet

Elements of the citation Author(s) – family name and initials. Article title. Newspaper title (edition of paper eg. Weekend edition) [Internet]. Date of publication - year month day [cited date - year month day]: Section of newspaper. Available from: URL

Section of newspaper eg. Research: [about 4 screens] or Health: A1
Reference
  1. Drivers told: “Don’t use Clem7 tunnel”. The Courier Mail [Internet]. 2010 Mar 16 [cited 2010 Mar 16]. Available from: http://www. couriermail.com.au/news/car‐with‐flat‐tyre‐the‐ first‐to‐cause‐ -problems‐in‐clem7‐tunnel/story‐ e6freon6‐1225841179464M
Note with example 5 - EndNote will put a full stop after the cited date as there is no "Section of newspaper" but a colon after the cited date is still acceptable.
 
  1. Sack K. With Medicaid cuts, doctors and patients drop out. The New York Times [Internet]. 2010 Mar 16 [cited 2010 Mar 16]: Health:A1. Available from: http://www.nytimes.com/medicaid.html?ref=health
In-text The success of the Clem7 tunnel ...(5)

…causing them to leave.6
EndNote reference type Electronic article

Year field - enter year month(abbreviated to first 3 letters of the month) day eg. 2010 Mar 16

Periodical Title field - enter newspaper name and [Internet] eg. The Courier Mail [Internet]

Date Accessed field - enter the date you cited the article - year month day eg. 2010 March 20

Pages field - enter page numbers of the article – include the newspaper section if applicable.eg. Health:A1

Government / Reports

Reports and other government publications

Elements of the citation Author(s). Title of report. Place of publication: Publisher; Date of publication – year month (if applicable). Total number of pages (if applicable eg. 24 p.) Report No.: (if applicable)
Reference
  1. Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. Oral health and dental care in Australia: key facts and figures trends 2014. Canberra: AIWH; 2014.
  1. Page E, Harney JM. Health hazard evaluation report. Cincinnati (OH): National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (US); 2001 Feb. 24 p. Report No.:HETA2000‐0139‐2824
In-text

Oral health is ...1

......due to health hazards.(2)
…..due to health hazards.2

EndNote reference type

Report

Reference 1.
Place Published field: enter - Place of publication and publisher together

Author field: enter – Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, (enter the comma at the end of the corporate author)

Reference 2.
Year
field: enter - year, date and total number of pages eg. 2001 Feb. 24p

Place Published field: enter - the place of publication and publisher together

Report online

Elements of the citation Author(s). Title of report. Report No.: (if applicable). [internet]. Place of publication: Publisher or Institution; Publication date or year [updated date - year month day; cited date - year month day]. Available from: URL 
Reference
  1. Commonwealth of Australia, Treasury. Budget strategy and outlook 2008-09. Budget paper no. 1, 2008. [internet] Canberra, ACT: Commonwealth of Australia; 2008 [updated 10 May 2008; cited 29 Mar 2009]. Available from: http://www.budget.gov.au/2008-09/content/bp1/html/index.htm
In-text ... indicated in the budget paper.3
EndNote reference type

Webpage

Author field: enter - Commonwealth of Australia, on one line and then enter Treasury, on the next line - enter a comma at the end of each entry.
Title field: enter – Budget strategy and outlook 2008-09. Budget paper no. 1, 2008

 

Theses / Dissertations

Thesis - print

Elements of the citation Author - family name followed by initials. Thesis title [type of thesis]. Place of publication: Publisher; Year.

Note:  - insert "dissertation" for a PhD and 
            - insert "master's thesis" for a master's degree
Reference
  1. Kay JG. Intracellular cytokine trafficking and phagocytosis in macrophages [dissertation]. St Lucia, Qld: University of Queensland; 2007
In-text The research is support by Kay (1)...
EndNote reference type Thesis

Thesis Type field: enter - type of thesis eg. dissertation

Thesis retrieved from fulltext database or internet

Elements of the citation Author - family named followed by initials. Thesis title [type of thesis/dissertation on the Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Year [cited date – year month day]. Available from: URL

Note: for [type of thesis/dissertation on the Internet]
           - insert "dissertation on the Internet" for a PhD
           - insert "master's thesis on the Internet" for a master's degree
Reference
  1. Pahl KM. Preventing anxiety and promoting social and emotional strength in early childhood: an investigation of risk factors [dissertation on the Internet]. St Lucia, Qld: University of ​Queensland; 2009 [cited 2017 Nov 22]. Available from: https://espace.library.uq.edu.au/view/UQ:178027
In-text The research...2
EndNote reference type Thesis
 

Webpages

Webpages

A citation to a web site is made mainly from the information found on the homepage.

The URL does not have a full stop after it unless in ends in a forward slash - / or more information follows it such as a DOI number.

Webpage with author

Elements of the citation Author/organization's name. Title of the page [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher's name; Publication date or year [updated date - year month day; cited date - year month day]. Available from: URL
 
  • If the place, publisher or date is unknown use [place unknown], [publisher unknown] or [date unknown]
  • If neither the date of publication nor a date of copyright can be found - use the date of update/revision or date cited.
Reference
  1. Diabetes Australia. Gestational diabetes [Internet]. Canberra (ACT): Diabetes Australia; 2015 [updated 2015; cited 2017 Nov 23]. Available from: https://www.diabetesaustralia.com.au/gestational-diabetes
In-text ......occurs in gestational diabetes.1
EndNote reference type Web page

Use the Access Year and Access Date fields for the cited date 

Webpage - no author

Elements of the citation Title [Internet]. Place of publication (if availablable): Publisher's name (if available); Publication date [updated date (if available); cited date]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. The family impact of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) [Internet]. 2009 Nov 1 [updated 2010 Jan 1; cited 2010 Apr 8]. Available from:http://www.virtualmedicalcentre.com.au/healthandlifest yle.asp?sid=192&title=The‐Family‐Impact‐of‐Attention‐ Deficit‐Hyperactivity‐Disorder‐%28ADHD%29page=2
In-text Coping with ADHD......(2)
EndNote reference type Web page

Year field: enter - year month (first 3 letters of month) day eg. 2009 Nov 1

Title field: enter  - title of website [Internet] eg. The family impact of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) [Internet]

Webpage - no author/part of a web site

Elements of the citation Title of homepage [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher's name; Publication date of homepage. Title of specific page/part; Date of publication of part [Cited date of part]. Available from: URL of part
 
  • If the place, publisher or date is unknown use [place unknown], [publisher unknown] or [date unknown]
  • If neither the date of publication nor a date of copyright can be found - use the date of update/revision or date cited.
Reference
  1. Australian Medical Association [Internet]. Barton ACT: AMA; c2016. Junior doctors and medical students call for urgent solution to medical training crisis; 2012 Oct 22 [cited 2012 Nov 5]; Available from: https://ama.com.au/media/junior-doctors​-and-medical-students-call-urgent-solution-medical-training-crisis
In-text ...the need for more doctors.3
EndNote reference type

Web page

Author field: enter -  Author/organisation [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Publication/copyright date, eg. Australian Medical Association [Internet]. Barton ACT: AMA; c2016,
(You must include the comma after the publication year to make EndNote treat it like a corporate author so it all appears in the correct order)

Title 
field: enter - Title of section; Publication date of part 
eg. Junior doctors and medical students call for urgent solution to medical training crisis

Place published field: put the publication date of the part - year month day eg. 2012 Oct 22

Access Year field: enter year website was viewed

Access Date field: enter month and day website was viewed 

Image on a webpage

Elements of the citation Author/organization. Title [image on the Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher's name; Publication date [date cited]. Available from: URL

If the image does not have a title - give the image a meaningful title in square brackets.
Reference
  1. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. PHIL photo ID#6121: Chickenpox in an unvaccinated child [Image on the internet]. 2011 [updated 2011 Nov 16; cited 2014 Feb 28]; Available from: http://www.cdc.gov/chickenpox/about/photos.html
In-text The image of the rash.....4
EndNote reference type Web page

Type of Medium field: enter  - image on the Internet

Other Internet sources

Podcasts

Elements of the citation Author(s) - family name and initials. Title of podcast [podcast on the Internet]. Place of production: Producer; Production or copyright date [updated year month day (if available); cited year month day]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Dirks, P. “Missing Link” fossil discovery in South Africa [podcast on the Internet]. Sydney: ABC Radio National; 2010 [updated 2010 Apr 9; cited 2010 Apr 14]. Available from: http://www.abc.net.au/rn/breakfast/stories/2010/28680 72.htm
In-text The latest fossil discover...(1)
EndNote reference type Web page

Type of Medium field ‐ enter “podcast on the Internet”

Last Update Date field: enter the updated date eg. 2010 Apr 9

Access Year field: enter the cited date eg. 2010 Apr 14

Blog

Elements of the citation Author of blog - family name and initials or organisation. Title of blog [Internet] Place of publication: Publisher. First year of blog followed by dash -. [cited year month day]; [number of screens]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. University of Queensland Library. Ipswich library blog [Internet]. St Lucia, Queensland: University of Queensland Library. 2008 Mar -. [cited 2012 Sep 26]; [about 3 screens]. Available from: http://www.library.uq.edu.au/blogs/Ipswich
In-text For further information about the UQ Ipswich library refer to their blog.2
EndNote reference type Blog

Publisher field: enter - publisher name followed by date of publication date eg. University of Queensland Library. 2008 Mar –

Last Update Date field: enter the date of citation eg. 2012 Sep 26

URL field: enter full stop after URL only if it ends in a forward slash - /

Blog post - contributor other than blog owner

Elements of the citation Author of post - family and initials. Title of post. Year month day of post [cited year month day]. In: Author or editor of blog. Title of blog [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. First year of blog followed by dash -. [about - number of screens]. Available from URL

Note: put full stop after the URL if it ends in a forward slash - /
Reference
  1. Harwood A. Tourists enter the medical mix. 2011 Jun 7 [cited 2017 Nov 29]. In: Rural Health;Workforce. Rural health - a life changing difference [Internet]. Melbourne: Rural Health Workforce.2012 -. [about 2 screens]. Available from: http://ruralchampions.govspace.gov.au/2011/06/07tourists-enter-the-medical-mix/.
In-text ......health.3
EndNote reference type Electronic book section

Year field: enter -  first year of blog followed by dash eg. 2012-

Title field: enter - title of blog post. date of blog post [cited date] eg. Tourists enter the medical mix. 20111 Jun 7 [cited 2017 Nov 29]

Book Title field: enter - Title of blog. [Internet] eg. Rural Health Workforce. Rural health - a life changing difference [Internet]

Publisher field: enter - Publisher. First year of blog followed by dash. [about - number of screens]
eg. Rural Health Workforce. 2012-. [about 2 screens]

URL 
field: put a full stop after the URL if it ends in a forward slash - /

Blog post - author is also owner of the blog

Elements of the citation Author of blog - family name and initials or organisation. Title of blog [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. First year of blog followed by dash -. Title of post; year month day of post [cited year month day]; [number of screens]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Smith SW. Dr. Smith's ECG blog [Internet]. Minneapolis (MN): Dr Stephen W Smith. 2008 -. A 54 yo male with sudden chest pain. Computer says normal. Paramedic disagrees. 2017 Nov 27 [cited 2017 Nov 29]; [about 4 screens]. Available from: http://hqmeded-ecg.blogspot.com.au/2017/11/a-54-yo-male-with-suddenchest-pain.html
In-text Smith4 reported that...
EndNote reference type Web page

Title field: enter - blog title [Internet] eg. Dr. Smith's ECG blog [Internet]

Publisher field: enter - Publisher. First year of blog-. Title of blog post. Date of blog post [cited date]; [about - number of screens] eg. Dr Stephen W Smith. 2008-. A 54 yo male with sudden chest pain. Computer says normal. Paramedic disagrees. 2017 Nov 27 [cited 2017 Nov 29]; [about 4 screens]

Social media

Facebook

Elements of the citation Author(s) – family name and initials / Title of Facebook [Internet]. Date posted - year month day [cited date - year month day]; Available from: URL

Note: put full stop after the URL if it ends in a forward slash - /
Reference
  1. University of Queensland Library. The winners of the 2017 Queensland Literary Awards will be revealed at tonight's ceremony. Good luck to all shortlisted writers! [Internet]. 2017 Oct 4 [cited 2017 Nov 29]; Available from: https://www.facebook.com/pg/uniofqldlibrary/posts/.
In-text The winners will be....1
EndNote reference type Web page

Title field: enter the title and [Internet] eg. The winners of the 2017.... [Internet]

URL 
field: enter a full stop after the URL if it ends in forward slash - /

Twitter

Elements of the citation Author(s) – family name and initials / Twitter name / organisation. Full text of the tweet. [Internet]. Date Tweet posted - year month day [cited date - year month day]; Available from: URL of Twitter account
Reference
  1. UQ Library. Turtles down by UQ St Lucia Lakes today. Air conditioned library or enjoying the sun and the view - tough choice! [Internet]. 2017 Oct 4 [cited 2017 Nov 29]; Available from: https://twitter.com/uqlibrary/status/915782138905034752
In-text .......turtles.2
EndNote reference type Web page

Year field: enter - year month day eg. 2017 Oct 4

URL field: enter - full stop after URL only if it ends in a forward slash - /

Pamphlets / Brochures / Package inserts

Pamphlet / Brochure

Elements of the citation Author. Title of brochure/pamphlet [pamphlet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Year of publication.
Reference
  1. Pharmaceutical Society of Australia. Medicines and driving [pamphlet]. Sydney: Pharmaceutical Society of Australia; 1998.
In-text As listed in the pamphlet by the...1
EndNote reference type Pamphlet

Type of Work field: enter - pamphlet

Package insert

Elements of the citation Name of medicine [package insert]. Place of publication: Publisher/Manufacturer; Year of publication.

Note: Package inserts are the printed material about the use and effects of the product contained in the package.
Reference
  1. Lamasil [package insert]. East Hanover, NJ: Sandoz Pharmaceuticals Corp; 1993.
In-text One of the side effects listed...(2)
EndNote reference type Pamphlet

Type of Work field - enter - package insert

Package insert online

Elements of the citation Name of medicine [package insert on the Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher/Manufacturer; Year of publication [updated date; cited date - day month year]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Ventolin CFC-free inhaler [package insert on the Internet]. Abbotsford, VIC: GlaxoSmithKline Australia Pty Ltd; 2017 [updated 2017 Jun 26; cited 2017 Oct 10]. Available from: https://au.gsk.com/media/394804/ventolin_inhaler_cmi_au_008_approved.pdf
In-text Ventolin3 usage.....
EndNote reference type Pamphlet

Year field: enter - Publication year [updated date; cited date]. Available from: URL. eg. 2017 [updated 2017 Jun 26: cited 2017 Oct 10]. Available from: https://au.gsk.com/media/394804/ventolin
_inhaler_cmi_au_008_approved.pdf


Type of Work field: enter - package insert on the Internet

Lecture notes

Lecture notes

Elements of the citation Lecturer. Title of Lecture [unpublished lecture notes]. Course code: course name, Institution where delivered; lecture given - date of lecture - year month day.
Reference
  1. Smith A. Week three: Foucault [unpublished lecture notes]. BESC3009: Relating with young people, St Lucia: University of Queensland; lecture given 2010 Apr 20.
In-text In the lecture given by Smith (1)...
EndNote reference type Manuscript

Year field: enter -  “lecture given” followed by year and date eg. lecture given 2010 Apr 20

Title field: enter - title of lecture followed by [unpublished lecture notes]

Collection title field: enter - course code: course name eg. BESC3009: Relating with young people

Place Published field: enter - place of publication and the institution name eg St Lucia: University of Queensland

Audiovisual material

Broadcast - television and radio programs

Elements of the citation Title of segment [television or radio broadcast]. Title of program. Place of publication: Publisher; Date program was aired.
Reference
  1. The medical profession in the 1990's [television broadcast]. The MacNeil/Lehrer news hour. New York, Washington D.C.: Public Broadcasting Service; 1993 Oct 11.
In-text As seen in the MacNeil/Lehrer news hour1
EndNote reference type Film or broadcast

Title field: enter - title of segment [television broadcast] eg: The medical profession in the 1990's [television broadcast]

Series Title field: enter –  name of the program series eg. The MacNeil/Lehre news hour

Place Published field: enter - place of broadcast eg. New York, Washington D.C.

Distributor field: enter - name of publisher eg. Public Broadcasting Service

Year Released field: enter -  year and date the program was aired eg. 1993 Oct 11

DVD / CD-ROM

Elements of the citation Author(s) - family name and initials. Title [Format]. Version number (if relevant). Place of publication: Publisher; Publication year. Item description - includes extent (number of physical pieces): colour, size.
Reference
  1. Lennon RL, Horlocker TT. Mayo Clinic procedural training manual: peripheral nerve blockade for major lower extremity orthopedic surgery [CD-ROM]. Rochester (MN): Mayo Foundation for Medical Education & Research; 2006. 1 CD-ROM: sound, colour, 4 3/4 in.
In-text Lennon2 showed...
EndNote reference type

Audiovisual material

Year field: enter - Publication year. extent: physical description eg. eg. CD-ROM: sound, colour, 4 3/4 in

Type field: enter - Format of audiovisual material eg. CD-ROM

Streaming video

Elements of the citation Author(s) - family name and initials - (if available). Title [format]. Secondary author(s) - role in production - family name and initials. Place of publication: publisher; date of publication [date it was viewed]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Tran F. Egypt's great pyramid: the new evidence [video on the Internet]. Tran F, director. Parrault S, Priou E, Darondeau Y, producers. Paris (France):Bonne Pioche Productions; 2017 [2017 Nov 11]. Available from: http://edutv.informit.com.au.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/watch-screen.php?videoID=2210167
In-text Evidence has shown.....(3)
EndNote reference type Electronic book

Year field: enter - publication year [date viewed] eg. 2017 [2017 Nov 11]

Place Published field: enter - secondary authors (directors, producers). Place of publication eg. Tran F, director. Parrault S, Priou E, Darondeau Y, producers. Paris (France)

Film / motion picture with director and producer

Elements of the citation Author(s) - family name and initials. Title [motion picture]. Secondary author(s) - role in production - family name and initials. Place of publication: Publisher; year of publication. Item description.
Reference
  1. Sitch R, Kennedy J, Gleisner T,;Cilauro S. The castle [motion picture]. Sitch R, director. Choate D, producer. Sydney, NSW: Village Roadshow Picture; 1997. 1 reel: 85 min., sound, colour, 16 mm.
In-text Classic catch phrases......4
EndNote reference type Audiovisual material

Year field: enter - Publication year. Item description eg. 1997. 1 reel: 85 min., sound, colour, 16 mm.

Place Published field: enter - secondary authors like directors and producers followed by Place of publication eg. Sitch, R, director. Choate, D, producer. Sydney, NSW

Personal communication

Personal communication (oral, written and email)

Personal communication:

  • is entered manually in the text of your document. It cannot be done through EndNote
  • should be included in the text of your document – cited in text only
  • should not be included in your reference list

Personal communication in the text of your document must include:

  • Date of communication​
  • ​Type of communication – oral, written (eg. Letter, written communication) or email (include email address)
  • ​Affiliation (university, organisation)‐ optional and highest academic degree​

It is recommended you get permission from the source/author of your personal communication.

Conversation:
In a conversation with a A. B. Smith, MD (April 2010)...

Letter:
According to a letter by C. D. Jones (Assoc. Prof., Dept of Philosophy, University of Pittsburgh, PA) in November 2010...
According to C.D. Jones , PhD (written communication, November 2010)...

E‐mail:
In‐text: In an email from E. Ferguson, PhD (efergus@uq.edu.au) in August 2010...

Reference List:
Ferguson E. How to cite in your assignments [online]. E‐mail to Abe Smith (smithie@uq.edu.au) 2010 Apr 20 [cited 2010 April 28].

It is important to keep a copy of the email.

Legal material

Elements of the ctiation

Legislation:

  • Short title of the Act or Regulations in italics – (if no short title use the long title)
  • Year in italics or underlined
  • (Jurisdiction) abbreviated and in round brackets
  • Pinpoint reference to the relevant section or subsection if applicable

Format for Legislation

Title Year (Jurisdiction Abbreviation) Pinpoint.

Case Law 

  • Case Name in Italics or underlined if unable to italicise
  • Year in brackets eg. (2012) for reports with sequential volume numbers and therefore the year is not essential for locating the correct volume in the series OR use square brackets eg. [2012] where the year is essential to locate the correct volume
  •  Volume number
  • Abbreviation of the law report
  • Commencing page number of the case,
  • Pinpoint page number, separated from the commencing page number by a comma (only when referring to a specific statement in the judgement)
  • Name of the court – only used when it is not obvious from the citation what the deciding court was

Format for reported cases

Case Name (Year) Volume Law Report Abbreviation Page, Pinpoint (Court).

NOTE: where a case has been reported in the ‘authorised” reports for that court, you should use that citation in preference to any other citation which you may have.

Further information about citing legal resources:

Legislation

Elements of the citation Short title of the act in italics Year in italics (Juridiction) Pinpoint reference to relevant section.
Reference
  1. Agricultural Chemicals Distribution Control Act 1966 (Qld) s 3.
  1. Trusts Act 1973 (Qld) s 58.
In-text Note: where you are referring to legislative provision in the text of your work, you should write as you would speak
eg. Section 58 of the Trusts Act 1973 (Qld) 63 states that...
      NOT: Trusts Act 1973 (Qld) s 58 states that.
..
EndNote reference type Legal

Enter all the details ‐ title, year, jurisdiction and section in the AGLC Citation field

Enter short title of Act or Regulation into the Short Title field

Case law

Elements of the citation Case name in italics [year in round or square brackets see Elements of the citation] Volume Number Abbreviation of law report Commencing page number of case Pinpoint (Name of Court only when not obvious from citation)
Reference
  1. Commonwealth v Tasmania (1983) 185 CLR 1.
  1. Aldric v EM Investments (Qld) Pty Ltd [2000] 2 Qd R 346 (Court of Appeal)
  1. Bakker v Stewart [1980] VR 17,22.
In-text In Bakker v Stewart5 the...
EndNote reference type Legal
 

AGLC citation field:  enter all the details of the case eg. Bakker v Stewart [1980] VR 17,22

Tables / Figures / Images / Appendices

Tables/ Figures / Images / Appendices

Elements of the citation Follow the format of the reference type (book, journal or website) in which you found  the table/figure/image/appendix followed by: table/figure/image/appendix number of original source, Title of table/figure/image/appendix from original source; p. Page number of  table/figure/image/appendix from original source.

NOTE: each reference to a different table/figure/image within the same document requires a separate entry in the Reference list
Reference
  1. Smith J, Lipsitch M, Almond JW. Vaccine production, distribution, access, and uptake. Lancet 2011;378(9789):428‐438. Table 1, Examples of vaccine classes and associated industrial challenges; p. 429.
  1. Grivetti LE. Chocolate, crime, and the courts: Selected English trial documents, 1693‐1834. In: Grivetti LE, Shapiro H, editors. Chocolate: History and culture. Hoboken, New Jersey. John Wiley & Sons; 2009. Table 20.1, Chocolate‐related crime: Old Bailey court records; p. 244.
  1. Hong S. Wireless: From Marconi’s black‐box to the Audion. London, England. MIT Press; 2001. Figure 1.5, Marconi's grounded antenna; p. 21.
In-text Crimes relating to chocolate was high (see Table 5).

Table 3. Examples of vaccine classes and associated industrial challenges.(1)

Table 5. Chocolate related crime: Old Bailey court records.2

Figure 3. Marconi’s grounded antenna.3

Note: - the table number in these examples would be the table number in your document not the table  
             number in the original document. 
          - The original table number must be cited in the reference list.
          - If you change the table title in your document you must cite the original title
            of the table in the reference list. 
EndNote reference type Enter journal/Book/Book section details as normal.

Journal

Pages field:  insert a full stop after the page numbers and then add the details of the table/figure/image/ appendix eg. 428‐438. Table 1, Examples of vaccine classes and associated industrial challenges; p. 429

Book Section (for book chapters)

Pages field: enter - table details starting with table/figure/image/appendix as shown in the example. The ‘p.’ will be inserted by EndNote. If you are inserting page numbers for the chapter ‐ after the page numbers add ‘full stop space p.” followed by the table details. 

Book

Year field:  insert a full stop and space after the year followed by the table/figure/image/appendix details as shown. eg. 2001. Figure 1.5, Marconi’s grounded antenna; p. 21
 

Datasets

Datasets

Elements of the citation Investigator(s) names. Title of dataset [medium type]. Host institution name/Producer: Physical location; Year of publication [Date accessed]. Available from: Identifier – DOI or URL
Reference
  1. Harrell, F. Data for Titanic passengers [Data file]. Vanderbilt University, Department of Biostatistics: Nashville, Tennessee; 2011. [cited 24 Oct 2014]. Available from: http://biostat.mc.vanderbilt.edu/wiki/pub/Main/DataSets
    ​/titanic.txt
In-text The majority of the Titanic survivors………(1)
EndNote reference type Dataset

Investigators field:enter - the author/institution name

Title field: enter - name of study/resource/dataset

Data type field:  enter -  type of medium eg. Data file, Computer file

Distributor field: enter -  the name of producer/host institution name

Place published field: enter - the physical location

Year field: enter - year of publication

Access Date field: enter  - the date the data was accessed

URL and/or DOI fields enter the appropriate identifier