Skip to main content

UQ Harvard referencing style

The Harvard style is a generic author-date style for citing and referencing information used.

Report from an electronic database - with known author

Elements of the citation

Author(s) of report (person or organisation) Family name, Initials Year of Publication, Title of report - italicised, Report description and/or number (if available), viewed date - Day Month Year, Name of database.

Note: when referencing a report from a Library database, do not include the URL. Include the name of the database and the date you accessed it.

In-text reference (Johnson 2018)
Reference list Johnson, S 2018, Document management services in Australia, IBISWorld Industry Report OD5517, viewed 5 February 2018, IBISWorld database.
EndNote Report

Report from an electronic database - organisational author

Elements of the citation

Author(s) of report (person or organisation) Family name, Initials Year of Publication, Title of report - italicised, Report description and/and or number if available, viewed date - Day Month Year, Name of database.

Ensure that you differentiate between the name of the database and the author or publisher of the information.

In this example the organisation/corporate author is the publisher, Euromonitor International, who provided the information through the Passport database. 

In-text reference (Euromonitor 2017)
Reference list Euromonitor 2017, Footwear in Australia, Country report, viewed 2 December 2017, Passport database.
EndNote Report