Skip to main content

MLA 8th referencing style

A guide to using MLA 8th referencing style

Dictionary or encyclopaedia - print

Reference Example
Note

To cite a specific definition in a dictionary entry, give the relevant designation (e.g. number, letter).

In-text

Milton's description of the moon at "her highest noon" signifies the "place of the moon at midnight" ("Noon" def. 4b).

Reference list

"Noon." The Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed., vol. 10, Clarendon Press, 1989, p. 509.

Endnote reference type

Book section

Encyclopedia

Dictionary

Dictionary or encyclopaedia - online

Reference Example
In-text

A Dutch-Born Abstract Expressionist painter, de Kooning was particularly known as a leading exponent of Action painting ("de Kooning").

Reference list

"de Kooning, Willem." World Encyclopedia. Philip's, 2004, Oxford Reference, http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199546091.001.0001/acref-9780199546091-e-3194?rskey=mwloWH&result=1.

Endnote reference type

Book section

Encyclopedia

Dictionary

Dictionary or encyclopaedia with author

Reference Example
Note

When citing specialised reference books, especially those that have appeared in only one edition, include full publication information.

In-text

(Byrne 367)

OR

According to Byrne... (367)

Reference list

Byrne, Sandie. "Emily Brontë's Wuthering Heights." British Writers: Classics, edited by Jay Parini, vol. 1, Scribner's, 2003,pp. 367-86.

Endnote reference type

Book

Encyclopedia

Dictionary