Skip to main content

MLA 8th referencing style

A guide to using MLA 8th referencing style

Work in an exhibit

Reference Example
In-text

(Picasso)

OR

Picasso's La Belle Hollandaise is an example of...

Reference list

Picasso, Pablo. La Belle Hollandaise. 1905. Queensland Art Gallery, Brisbane.

Endnote reference type

Artwork

You will need to manually edit the output for this style in the plain text version of the document to change the title from in quotation marks to italicised and move the date to the correct position in the reference.

Work in a private collection

Reference Example
Note

Give the name of the collection (Collection of...) or, Private collection if the collector is unknown.

In-text

(Bacon)

OR

In Isabel de Borbón, Velázquez uses...

Reference list

Bacon, Francis.Triptych, May-June 1973. 1973. Collection of Esther Grether.

Velázquez, Diego. Isabel de Borbón. 1631-1632. Private collection.

Endnote reference type

Artwork

You will need to manually edit the output for this style in the plain text version of the document to change the title from in quotation marks to italicised and move the date to the correct position in the reference. Enter the collection details into the Publisher field.

Reproduction of an artwork - print

Reference Example
Note

For photographic reproductions of artwork (e.g. images of artwork in a book), cite the bibliographic information as above followed by the information for the source in which the photograph appears, including page numbers.

In-text

(Goya)

OR

Goya takes a different approach in his work The Family of Charles IV...

Reference list

Goya, Francisco. "The Family of Charles IV". 1800. Museo del Prado, Madrid. Gardener's Art Through the Ages, by Helen Gardner et al., 10th ed., Harcourt Brace, 1996, p.939

Endnote reference type

Book section

Book section is perhaps the closest reference output style that has minimal manual editing required. You will need to manually edit the output for this style in the plain text version of the document to add the painting's original creation year and place where the work is held.

Reproduction of an artwork - online

Reference Example
Note

For photographic reproductions of artwork (e.g. images of artwork in a book), cite the bibliographic information as above followed by the information for the source in which the photograph appears, including URL or DOI.

Access dates are optional elements that may be useful if the source is accessed on a platform where the material may be altered or removed.

In-text

(Bernini)

OR

Bernini's David provides and interesting contrast...

Reference list

Bernini, Gianlorenzo. "David". 1623-4. Galleria Borghese, Rome. The Artchive, www.artchive.com. Accessed 18 Nov. 2015.

Endnote reference type

Book section

Book section is perhaps the closest reference output style that has minimal manual editing required. You will need to manually edit the output for this style in the plain text version of the document to add the painting's original creation year, place where the work is held, add 'Accessed' before the access date.