Library Guides: Chicago 17th edition notes and bibliography: Manuscripts

Citing manuscripts

Titles of unpublished manuscripts, like the titles of other unpublished works, appear in quotation marks. Include the words unpublished manuscript and the date of the version consulted, if known; for electronic files, a last-saved or last-modified date may be appropriate. End the citation with an indication of format.

See this guide for referencing materials from the Fryer Library.

Manuscript

Elements of citation	Title in inverted commas -- Unpublished manuscript, version date (in brackets) -- Format
Footnote	^21. John East, "The Duhig building: changing configurations of a library space at the University of Queensland" (unpublished manuscript, January 17 2018), typescript.
Bibliography	East, John. "The Duhig building: changing configurations of a library space at the University of Queensland." Unpublished manuscript, January 17 2018, typescript.
Endnote reference type	Manuscript

Archival material

Elements of citation	Footnote: Description or title of the item, Date, Archival number, Box/Folder number (if applicable), Name of Collection (if applicable), Name and location of archive/library Bibliography: Author of the item, Description or title of the item, Date. Archival number, Box/folder number (if applicable). Name of Collection (if applicable), Name and location of archive/library If you reference multiple items from a collection, cite the collection as a whole: Collection name, reference code. Name and location of archive/library.
Footnote	^24. Speech “A new state for north Queensland” by John Henry Peake, 1959, F2207, Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library. ^25. Photograph of Australian soldiers marching to boat to return to Anzac Cove, Gallipoli, by Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace, 1915, F831, Album 2, page 21, Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace Collection, Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library. ^26. Photograph of wounded soldiers arriving at Lemnos Island from Gallipoli, by Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace, 1915, F831, Album 2, page 7, Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace Collection, Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library.
Bibliography	Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace Photographic Collection, F831. Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library. Peake, John Henry, Speech “A new state for north Queensland”, 1959. F2207. Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library.
Endnote reference type	Manuscript

Elements of citation

Footnote: Description or title of the item, Date, Archival number, Box/Folder number (if applicable), Name of Collection (if applicable), Name and location of archive/library

Bibliography: Author of the item, Description or title of the item, Date. Archival number, Box/folder number (if applicable). Name of Collection (if applicable), Name and location of archive/library

If you reference multiple items from a collection, cite the collection as a whole: Collection name, reference code. Name and location of archive/library.

Footnote

^24. Speech “A new state for north Queensland” by John Henry Peake, 1959, F2207, Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library.

^25. Photograph of Australian soldiers marching to boat to return to Anzac Cove, Gallipoli, by Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace, 1915, F831, Album 2, page 21, Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace Collection, Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library.

^26. Photograph of wounded soldiers arriving at Lemnos Island from Gallipoli, by Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace, 1915, F831, Album 2, page 7, Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace Collection, Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library.

Bibliography

Florence Elizabeth James-Wallace Photographic Collection, F831. Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library.

Peake, John Henry, Speech “A new state for north Queensland”, 1959. F2207. Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library.

Endnote reference type

Manuscript