Skip to main content

Chicago 17th edition footnotes and bibliography

Footnotes and Bibliography for the Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition

Citing reference works

Well-known reference books, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, are normally cited in notes rather than in bibliographies. Most other reference works, however, are more appropriately listed with full publication details like any other book resource.

To cite substantial, authored entries in a reference work cite the contributions much like a multi-authored book.

For continually updated online resources, an edition number will usually be unnecessary. Instead, include a posted publication or revision date for the cited entry; if none is available, supply an access date. Time stamps may be included for frequently updated resources.

Dictionary or encyclopaedia

Elements of citation

In a note, cite specific pages.  In the bibliography include the page range for the chapter or part.  

Footnote

15. C.R. Moore and M.A. Crotty, "Australian Musculinities," in International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities, ed. M. Flood, J.K. Gardiner, B. Pease, and K. Pringle (London: Routledge, 2007), 32.

16. Damian Cox, Michael Levine and Marguerite La Caze, "Integrity," in Stanford Encyclopaedia of Philosophy, ed. Edward N. Zalta. Standford University, 2017. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/spr2017/entries/integrity/.

Bibliography

Cox, Damian, Michael Levine, and Marguerite La Caze. "Integrity." In Stanford Encyclopaedia of Philosophy, edited by Edward N. Zalta Standford University, 2001. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/spr2017/entries/integrity/

Moore, C.R. and M.A. Crotty. "Australian Masculinities." In International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities, edited by M. Flood, J.K. Gardiner, B. Pease, and K. Pringle. Routledge, 2007.

Endnote reference type

When citing a print reference work use "Book Section"

When citing an online reference work use "Electronic Book Section"