Library Guides: Peace and conflict studies: Primary source databases

Why use primary sources

Primary sources are documents about events and time periods which were written at or around the time they are discussing. They are excellent resources for research as they capture the words, mood, and meaning of the original event or time period. They are excellent to use in research as proof for a statement you are making about an event.

There are archives of primary resources on international relations, peace and conflict from countries and agencies all over the world. Many databases of primary source documents are available in digitized forms, either free on the internet or through the Library's databases.

Primary source databases

These are just a few of the databases which will give you access to online versions of documents, reports and statements from foreign affairs departments and offices in goverments all over the world. Most databases have a searchable index so you can find documents relevant to your research area.

Digital National Security archive
The Digital National Security Archive contains a comprehensive set of declassified government documents. Covers critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
Foreign Office files for China
The complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan in this period.

Foreign Relations of the United States
This series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy
Covering the U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops

Making of the modern world
Provides digital facsimile images of works on economics and business published between 1450 and 1850. Full-text searching allows researchers access to material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.

Documents on British policy overseas.
Documents on British Policy Overseas is a fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office

U.K. Parliamentary papers
Searchable full text of the British House of Commons Parliamentary or Sessional Papers from 1688, along with a detailed subject index. Also includes the full text from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament, from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005.