Dictionaries
- WordReference.comFree online bilingual dictionaries for English to many other languages. Also provides language forums, dedicated to discussion about the meanings and translations of words, terms and expressions in many languages.
Periplus Pocket Korean Dictionary by Publication Date: 2016Intended for use by tourists, students, and businesspeople travelling to Korea, Pocket Korean Dictionary is an essential tool for communication and a great way to learn Korean.
Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary English/KoreanPublication Date: 2009This dictionary gives Korean translations of over 183,000 English words, phrases, and meanings, and of 85,000 examples of English words in use.
Other dictionaries can be located by searching UQ Library Search using keywords Korean language dictionaries English or English language dictionaries Korean.
Introductory resources
Routledge encyclopedia of second language acquisition by Publication Date: 2013A user-friendly, authoritative survey of terms and constructs that are important to understanding research in second language acquisition (SLA) and its applications.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies by Publication Date: 2009A thorough, critical and authoritative account of one of the fastest growing disciplines in the humanities. It covers central issues in translation theory, key concepts, approaches to translation and interpreting, types of translation, and types of interpreting. New additions include entries on globalisation, mobility, localization, gender and sexuality, censorship, comics, advertising and retranslation, among many others.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies by Publication Date: 2015The authoritative reference for anyone with an academic or professional interest in interpreting. All key issues and concepts in interpreting studies are brought together and covered systematically and in a structured and accessible format.
Specialised databases
- KCI - Korean journal database (Web of Science)Provides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in KCI. KCI is managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea and contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea.
- Research Information Sharing Service (RISS)RISS is operated by Korea Education Research Information Service (KERIS). KERIS is a public institution under the Ministry of Education, founded in 1999 and located in the southern area of Korea. This site provides access to hundreds of open access full text theses, books, articles. Please note not all resources are available to view full text.
- Linguistics and language behavior abstractsThis database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
- MLA international bibliographyIndexes materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
- Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation (BITRA) 2001+A bibliographical database on translation and interpreting created in 2001. Comprises over 63,000 entries (books, book chapters, journal articles, Ph.D. dissertations, journals, etc.), with more than 28,000 abstracts, more than 80,000 citations collected in the Impact field, and more than 2,000 tables of contents.
Learning the language
- Introductory Korean textbooksIntroductory Korean textbooks available from UQ Library.
- Korean reading materialReading material suitable for students studying Korean.
- National Institute of Korean LanguageProvides the rules of standard Korean language and spelling in foreign languages, Romanization, South and North Korean language dictionary, Korean cultural basic terms.
Browsing books in the Library
Search using the phrase Korean Language or Korean linguistics in UQ Library Search and limit your results by content type, subject terms, publication date, and language using the filter options on the right.
Find books about the Korean language in the Central Library at call numbers PL901 to PL949.