Introductory resources
Past Forward: essays in Korean history by Publication Date: 2019A wide-ranging collection of concise essays, Past Forward introduces core features of Korean history that illuminate current issues and pressing concerns, including recent political upheavals, social developments and cultural shifts.
A History of Korea: From "Land of the Morning Calm" to States in Conflict by Publication Date: 2012In this comprehensive new history of Korea from the prehistoric era to the present day, Jinwung Kim recounts the rich and fascinating story of the political, social, cultural, economic, and diplomatic developments in Korea's long march to the present.
A History of Korea by Publication Date: 2010Michael J. Seth surveys Korean history from Neolithic times to the present. He explores the origins and development of Korean society, politics, and its still little-known cultural heritage from their inception to the two Korean states of today.
Specialised databases
- National Institute of Korean HistoryCollaboration of 19 institutes which have Korean history materials. Through Hanguksa database it is possible to search materials that the National Institute of Korean History publishes or has. Korean modern newspaper sources, series, and documents are provided. Also, thesaurus is available.
- JSTORThe JSTOR archive of digitised full text journals, covering arts and sciences but does not include current issues.
- KCI - Korean journal database (Web of Science)Provides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in KCI. KCI is managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea and contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea.
- Asia-studies full-text onlineFulltext and statistical studies which APEC conducts on Asian economies - finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, education and women's studies. Includes industry-specific studies on the internet, technology, telecommunications, tourism.
Browsing books in the Library
A UQ Library search using the phrase Korean history will display the library holdings on the topic. You can limit your results by content type, subject terms, publication date, and language using the filters on the right.
Find books about Korean history in the Central Library at call numbers DS900 to DS904.
Searching tips
- Find quality informationHow to find information for academic purposes, including databases, specific information formats, Google Scholar and the web, research alerts and evaluating information.
- Advanced searchingThe Find quality information guide has tips to help you build your search strategy.
- Find journal articlesThe Find quality information guide explains how to find journal articles.
- Peer-reviewed journal articlesCheck if an article is peer reviewed.