Library Guides: Journalism, communication and digital cultures: Databases and journals

Why use journal articles?

Journal articles will give you more detailed analyses and critical research on journalism and communication issues.

Search UQ Library Search for articles across a wide range of the UQ Library's journal article collections, or select an individual database for a more targeted subject-specific approach.

Access print journal articles by locating the print journal in the UQ Library Search and retrieving the appropriate volume from the shelves.

Access online journal articles by using your UQ Username and Password.

Key communication & journalism databases

Social science database
This database provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
ABI/INFORM collection
Worldwide business journals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and companies.
Australia New Zealand Reference Centre
Combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create a collection of regional full text content.
Australian public affairs full text (APAFT)
Includes journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities.
MLA international bibliography
Indexes materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.

Multidisciplinary databases

Business source complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly journal article database, providing bibliographic and full text access to business, finance, and management journal articles, as well as company & industry information.
Research library
Via ProQuest - includes journals, magazines and newspapers on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Sage journals online (Sage journals premier)
SAGE Publications publishes journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine. Includes access to selected subscribed titles only.
Scopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
Taylor and Francis online journals
Provides full-text access to articles from journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science
A collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Peer reviewed articles

Explanation of peer reviewed articles and journals (YouTube, 1m51s)

Find the full text of a journal article

This video shows how to access the full text of a journal article through the UQ Library (YouTube, 2m56s).