Learning the language
- Introductory Japanese textbooksIntroductory Japanese textbooks available from UQ Library.
- Japanese Reading MaterialReading material suitable for students studying Japanese.
Browsing books in the library
Search using the phrase Japanese language or Japanese linguistics in UQ Library Search and limit your results by content type, subject terms, publication date, and language using the filter options on the right.
Find books about Japanese language in the Central Library at call numbers PL501 to PL699.
Dictionaries
- Jisho.orgJapanese-English online dictionary. Find words, kanji, example sentences and more.
- WordReference.comFree online bilingual dictionaries for English to many other languages. Also provides language forums, dedicated to discussion about the meanings and translations of words, terms and expressions in many languages.
Other dictionaries can be located by searching UQ Library Search using keywords Japanese language dictionaries English or English language dictionaries Japanese.
Dictionary of Translation Studies by Publication Date: 2014Provides a comprehensive survey of key terms and concepts (such as Abusive Translation, Minimax Principle, Texteme and Thick Translation), types of activity (Autotranslation, Dubbing, Signed Language), and school approaches (Leipzig School, Manipulation School, Nitra School).
Sūpā ankā eiwa jiten by Publication Date: 2015Super anchor English-Japanese dictionary, Fifth edition (スーパー・アンカー英和辞典).
Dictionary of basic Japanese grammar by Publication Date: 1986A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar conveniently summarizes introductory grammar knowledge into dictionary format. Student acquires a knowledge of basic grammar in more than provided by textbook descriptions, learning the difference between similar grammatical representations, and a review of basic grammar.
Introductory resources
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies by Publication Date: 2009A thorough, critical and authoritative account of one of the fastest growing disciplines in the humanities. It covers central issues in translation theory, key concepts, approaches to translation and interpreting, types of translation, and types of interpreting. New additions include entries on globalisation, mobility, localization, gender and sexuality, censorship, comics, advertising and retranslation, among many others.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies by Publication Date: 2015The authoritative reference for anyone with an academic or professional interest in interpreting. All key issues and concepts in interpreting studies are brought together and covered systematically and in a structured and accessible format.
Routledge encyclopedia of second language acquisition by Publication Date: 2013A user-friendly, authoritative survey of terms and constructs that are important to understanding research in second language acquisition (SLA) and its applications.
Specialised databases
- Linguistics and language behavior abstractsThis database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
- MLA international bibliographyIndexes materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
- Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation (BITRA) 2001+A bibliographical database on translation and interpreting created in 2001. Comprises over 63,000 entries (books, book chapters, journal articles, Ph.D. dissertations, journals, etc.), with more than 28,000 abstracts, more than 80,000 citations collected in the Impact field, and more than 2,000 tables of contents.