Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Review and research articles
Review articles are useful for:
- identifying key researchers
- outlining gaps and research advances
- identifying emerging trends
You can find review and other research articles by searching UQ Library Search or specialist databases:
When you are searching add the words "review article" or "literature review". In some databases you can refine your search to select these as document type.
To expand your literature search, consult the reference lists of relevant theses, review papers, journal articles or books.
If the Library doesn't hold a journal article that you require access to, you can obtain most articles through Document Delivery. It is free to students. You can also request materials if they are held in the Warehouse or at a library location off St Lucia campus.
The key databases for IT and electrical engineering include:
IEEE Xplore digital library
The IEEE Xplore digital library - scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Includes journals, conferences, technical standards and books. Include some citation data.
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
Web of Science
A collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A version of Google, which enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Citation databases allow you to easily establish which later documents have cited which earlier documents and how many times. It's a way of following the research and research activity of scholars.