Browsing books in the Library
Use the phrase Indonesian Literature to search in UQ Library Search where you can limit your results by content type, subject terms, publication date, and language using the options on the right side of the page.
Find books about Indonesian literature in the Central Library at call numbers PL5051 to PL5497.
Tips on using eBooks
The Library provides access to a range of eBooks.
Introductory resources
Situated Testimonies: Dread and Enchantment in an Indonesian Literary Archive by Publication Date: 2013This book combines the methodologies of history and literary criticism, reading colonial and post-colonial novels of the Indies and Indonesia as situated testimonies of the past, showing how they can illuminate nationalist narratives and imperial history.
Reading contemporary Indonesian Muslim women writers by Publication Date: 2009This book discusses the construction of gender and Islamic identities in literary writing by four prominent Indonesian Muslim women writers: Titis Basino P I, Ratna Indraswari Ibrahim, Abidah El Kalieqy and Helvy Tiana Rosa.
Black Clouds over the Isle of Gods and Other Modern Indonesian Short Stories by Publication Date: 1997The stories in this anthology take issue with worn stereotypes and reflect both everyday life and the great upheavals that have marked modern Indonesian national life.
A Literary Mirror by Publication Date: 2011A Literary mirror is the first English-language work to comprehensively analyse Indonesian-language literature from Bali from a literary and cultural viewpoint. It covers the period from 1920 to 2000.
Specialised databases
Search these databases for more specific articles related to Indonesian literature studies.
- MLA international bibliographyIndexes materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
- INTAN MASINTAN MAS is produced by the Charles Darwin University Library and contains references to the literature on the Eastern Indonesian provinces of Nusa Tenggara Barat, Nusa Tenggara Timur, Timor Timur (East Timor), Sulawesi, Maluku and Irian Jaya. It also contains references to publications on Australia's relations with South-east Asia, ASEAN and its member nations.
- Arts and humanities citation indexA multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers a large number of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals.