Learning the language
- Introductory Indonesian textbooksIndonesian language textbooks available from UQ Library.
- Indonesian Reading MaterialReading material suitable for students studying Indonesian.
Browsing books in the Library
Search using the phrase Indonesian language or Indonesian linguistics in UQ Library Search and limit your results by content type, subject terms, publication date, and language using the filter options on the right.
Find books about Indonesian language in the Central Library at call numbers PL5051 to PL5497.
Dictionaries
- Kamus BesarThe Great Dictionary of the Indonesian Language of the Language Center is the official dictionary of the Indonesian language.KBBI Online was created to facilitate the search, the use and reading of the meaning of words.
The Learner's Dictionary of Today's Indonesian by ISBN: 9781000251845Publication Date: 2020The Learner's Dictionary of Today's Indonesian is an essential tool to help you gain an authentic, up-to-date, and active command of the language. It provides a wholly new, very detailed snapshot of the core vocabulary of Indonesian. Rich in information on the cultural context in which words are used, it includes notes on the difficulties learners experience arising from differences in culture and history between English-speakers and Indonesian-speakers.
Other dictionaries can be found by searching UQ Library Search using the term Indonesian language dictionaries English or English language dictionaries Indonesian.
Dictionary of Translation Studies by Publication Date: 2014Provides a comprehensive survey of key terms and concepts (such as Abusive Translation, Minimax Principle, Texteme and Thick Translation), types of activity (Autotranslation, Dubbing, Signed Language), and school approaches (Leipzig School, Manipulation School, Nitra School).
A Comprehensive Indonesian-English Dictionary by Publication Date: 2010This second edition of A Comprehensive Indonesian-English Dictionary brings the highly successful first edition up to date with hundreds of new entries in business, law, and finance, as well as specialized terminology in the fields of technology, engineering, mining, and construction. Based on five years of research, including input from users, this new edition offers readers the most current information on names of political parties, acronyms for government offices, Islamic terms, colloquial pronunciations, and abbreviated forms used in blogs and e-mail.
Introductory resources
Routledge encyclopedia of second language acquisition by Publication Date: 2013A user-friendly, authoritative survey of terms and constructs that are important to understanding research in second language acquisition (SLA) and its applications.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies by Publication Date: 2015The authoritative reference for anyone with an academic or professional interest in interpreting. All key issues and concepts in interpreting studies are brought together and covered systematically and in a structured and accessible format.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies by Publication Date: 2009A thorough, critical and authoritative account of one of the fastest growing disciplines in the humanities. It covers central issues in translation theory, key concepts, approaches to translation and interpreting, types of translation, and types of interpreting. New additions include entries on globalisation, mobility, localization, gender and sexuality, censorship, comics, advertising and retranslation, among many others.
Specialised databases
- Linguistics and language behavior abstractsThis database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
- MLA international bibliographyIndexes materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
- Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation (BITRA) 2001+A bibliographical database on translation and interpreting created in 2001. Comprises over 63,000 entries (books, book chapters, journal articles, Ph.D. dissertations, journals, etc.), with more than 28,000 abstracts, more than 80,000 citations collected in the Impact field, and more than 2,000 tables of contents.