Browsing books in the Library
Search using the phrase French language or French linguistics in UQ Library Search and limit your results by content type, subject terms, publication date, and language using the filter options on the right side of the page.
Browse the shelves for books on French language and linguistics in the Central Library at the call numbers PC2001 to PC3761.
Dictionaries
- WordReference.comFree online bilingual dictionaries for English to many other languages. Also provides language forums, dedicated to discussion about the meanings and translations of words, terms and expressions in many languages.
- Oxford Dictionaries : French to English, English to FrenchThis website features fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionary for French-English and English-French
Other dictionaries can be found by searching UQ Library Search using the term French language dictionaries English or English language dictionaries French.
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French dictionary English to French by Publication Date: 2010Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary offers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary French and English. It covers all the words you need for everday use, carefully selected from evidence from the Oxford Languages Tracker and the Oxford English Corpus. Also includes French cultural and grammar supplements to help you improve your French.
Oxford French Business Dictionary French-English / English-French by Publication Date: 2002This dictionary provides an range of business vocabulary across many core areas, plus coverage of e-commerce and Internet-related terms. Treatment of vocabulary items is provided along with example phrases illustrating important constructions. The supplementary material offers sample business correspondence, including Curriculum Vitaes; faxes, emails, and invoices; lists of countries, nationalities, languages, and currencies; and guidance on using the telephone.
Dictionary of Translation Studies by Publication Date: 2014Provides a comprehensive survey of key terms and concepts (such as Abusive Translation, Minimax Principle, Texteme and Thick Translation), types of activity (Autotranslation, Dubbing, Signed Language), and school approaches (Leipzig School, Manipulation School, Nitra School).
Introductory resources
Routledge encyclopedia of second language acquisition by Publication Date: 2013A user-friendly, authoritative survey of terms and constructs that are important to understanding research in second language acquisition (SLA) and its applications.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies by Publication Date: 2009A thorough, critical and authoritative account of one of the fastest growing disciplines in the humanities. It covers central issues in translation theory, key concepts, approaches to translation and interpreting, types of translation, and types of interpreting. New additions include entries on globalisation, mobility, localization, gender and sexuality, censorship, comics, advertising and retranslation, among many others.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies by Publication Date: 2015The authoritative reference for anyone with an academic or professional interest in interpreting. All key issues and concepts in interpreting studies are brought together and covered systematically and in a structured and accessible format.
Specialised databases
- Linguistics and language behavior abstractsThis database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
- MLA international bibliographyIndexes materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
- Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation (BITRA) 2001+A bibliographical database on translation and interpreting created in 2001. Comprises over 63,000 entries (books, book chapters, journal articles, Ph.D. dissertations, journals, etc.), with more than 28,000 abstracts, more than 80,000 citations collected in the Impact field, and more than 2,000 tables of contents.
Learning the language
- French Language TextbooksFrench language textbooks available at UQ Library.
- French Language ReadersReading material suitable for students studying French.