Skip to main content

UQ Research Data Manager

Provides information about how to use the UQ Research Data Manager (UQRDM) to store and manage research data for research projects.

How can I limit someone's access rights to my project's data?

All named collaborators on a record have read/write access to the allocated storage folder. However, there is no limit to the number of records (projects) you can set up, where you can add different collaborators and control access this way.

We also strongly recommend that you set-up your UQRDM project records, based on collaborators access needs and requirements.

For example, you could set-up two UQRDM records for a research project: one with human identifiable human data, with collaborators who are named on your ethics approval, and one with the de-identifiable human data, which could be more widely shared.

There is also the option to control access to sub-folders and specific files by using the share by email or share by link functionality via UQRDM cloud. Please note that this is not suitable if you have "human identifiable data".

Can I add collaborators from international institutions to my record via UQRDM?

Yes - international collaborators that are added to a record can login via eduGAIN or Tuakiri (for NZ institutions) using their international institutional login details. Please refer to lists of institutions that eduGAIN and Tuakiri support. 

It is important to note that not all international institutions will work. Please contact ITS Support if your international collaborators experience problems with the login process. 

Can I share project data with hospital or industry collaborators via UQRDM?

Yes, hospital and industry collaborators, and those at an institution not included in the eduGAIN and Tuakiri federations have the option of signing in via their LinkedIn account to get access to the project data, once added to a project record.

The other option is to use the share by email or link function via UQRDM Cloud (e.g. if your collaborator doesn't have a LinkedIn account). Please note that this function is not available if you have indicated that your project has "identifiable human data" while setting up your record in the UQRDM

See more information about sharing by email or link using UQRDM cloud

Can a collaborator still access the data if he/she is removed from the record?

No - if a collaborator is removed by following these steps, the allocation folder will disappear from their laptop or desktop computer. The user will no longer be able to access the data via the R drive or via the UQRDM cloud interface or sync client. 

Please note that it can take up to 10 hours for the allocation folder to disappear from the R drive (if the user remains logged in to their computer). 

My external collaborator can't login to UQRDM?

Please contact ITS Support with details of the problem, including screenshots of attempted login where possible. 

My external collaborator has successfully joined the project, but cannot access the allocation folder via the cloud. Has something gone wrong?

External collaborators may not be able to access the cloud immediately after joining the record. Note that there can be up to a 2 hour delay before they can access the project data. If you believe the delay has been longer than 2 hours, please get your external collaborator to contact ITS Support with the details. 

Is there a recommended way to use the storage when working with several collaborators on the same files?

If working with collaborators on the same documents/files, it is recommendeded that all collaborators use the same access method (i.e the R drive or UQRDM cloud/sync client), to avoid file conflicts.

If working with UQ collaborators, the R drive is the recommended access method. Collaborators working on the same files through the R drive, will usually be notified that the file is being edited by another person (and will be locked); however there may be situations where this doesn't occur, depending on the operating system and software used. For further advice, contact ITS Support.

If working with external collaborators, the UQRDM cloud web interface or sync client is recommended. Collaborators working on the same files through the sync client, will usually be notified when there is a file conflict; however there may be situations where this doesn't occur, depending on the operating system and software used. For further advice, contact ITS Support.

I was invited to join a project, but the login link has now expired. Can the link be re-sent?

If the login link has expired, users will need to contact the person who added them to record (i.e. the record owner/UQ lead) to request to be re-added. The person who originally added the user to the record, will be listed in the reminder email pending collaborators are sent one week before the login link expires. 

If you are having trouble logging in, contact ITS Support.