Introduction
Discover Indigenous Knowledges through the Library's collections. Find books, images, multimedia content, and guides.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Knowledge can be encapsulated in language, song, and stories; visual works and expressions of art; rituals or ceremonies and lore; and management and use of the land, including flora (plants) and fauna (animals).
You can read more about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Knowledges in Bunda, T., Lynnell, A., Wilson, S., Strasek-Barker, M., Griffiths, K., Schober, L., Scanlan, T., Mishiro, K., Eagles, V. and Deane, L. (2023) The Language of Relationships with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples. The University of Queensland, DOI: https://doi.org/10.14264/0c80049
Selected book titles
Aboriginal peoples and birds in Australia by Publication Date: 2023Provides a review of the broad physical, historical and cultural relationships that Aboriginal people have had with the Australian avifauna. This book raises awareness of the alternative bodies of ornithological knowledge that reside outside of Western science.
Australia's first naturalists: Indigenous peoples' contribution to early zoology by Call Number: GN476.76 .O47 2019Publication Date: 2019The writings of the early European naturalists clearly describe the valuable knowledge of the Indigenous people of the habits of Australia's fauna.
The red kangaroo in central Australia by Publication Date: 2016The red kangaroo is at the heart of Australia's ecological identity. Alan Newsome discovered how droughts affect reproduction, why red kangaroos favor different habitats during droughts from those after rains, and that unprecedented explosions in red kangaroo numbers were caused by changes to the landscape wrought by graziers. Most importantly, he realized the possibilities of enriching western science with Indigenous knowledge.
Jingulu and Mudburra plants and animals: Biocultural knowledge of the Jingili and Mudburra people of Murranji, Marlinja, Warranganku (Beetaloo) and Kulumindini (Elliott) Northern Territory, Australia by Call Number: QK451 .N6 no.49Publication Date: 2018
Indigenous Peoples and the collaborative stewardship of nature by Publication Date: 2011
Peer reviewed literature
Books
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander authorsA collection showcasing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander authors, who are a part of the oldest living culture and original storytellers. Be aware the collection may contain images, voices, or names of deceased persons.
- Indigenising Curriculum reading listAccess over 300 resources organised by faculty. Notes indicate where resources are authored by Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander or international indigenous writers.
- BlackWordsAn online resource that collects together creative writing and oral storytelling of Aboriginal Australians.
Search terms
Use the following example search terms to help find Library resources:
(keyword OR keyword) AND keyword AND keyword AND (aboriginal OR indigenous OR "first nations")
"indigenous knowledge" AND australia AND (keyword)
"indigenous knowledge" OR "indigenous perspectives"
Discover Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander collections
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander imagesPhotographs celebrating the memories, people, places, events, and objects of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures. Be aware the collection may contain images, voices, or names of deceased persons.
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander yarns and spoken memoriesA collection of exchanging stories which is the oldest form of sharing culture and knowledge. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples have been sharing their stories and yarning for 65,000 years or more. Be aware the collection may contain images, voices, or names of deceased persons.
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artAboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art is an expression of people’s culture, identity, and relationships to Country, that through a variety of styles celebrates the continuing traditions of cultural and spiritual heritage. Be aware the collection may contain images, voices, or names of deceased persons.
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languagesLanguage and culture are inseparable for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Language is a part of but not limited to Country, songline stories, ancestors, lore, identity and connections. This collection contains a selection of the 250 Indigenous languages and 800 dialects in Australia. Be aware the collection may contain images, voices, or names of deceased persons.
- Torres Strait IslandsA collection that demonstrates the Torres Strait Islands as distinctly different from Aboriginal Australia, with unique cultural, linguistic, and geographic differences. Be aware the collection may contain images, voices, or names of deceased persons.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander guides
- Indigenising curriculum resourcesFind a rich and curated collection of library resources and innovative approaches for embedding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander curriculum and inclusive teaching practices in programs.