Open access
Find out about:
- the different versions of open access (Green, Gold and Hybrid)
- complying with policy and funding mandates including for the Australian Research Council (ARC) and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
- UQ eSpace, the University of Queensland's open access institutional repository for research outputs
- article processing charge (APC) options.
7. Find open access journals and resources
Open access journals
Use these resources to find open access scholarly journals that use a rigorous quality control system and ethical practices to guarantee quality content.
UQ Journal Search tool - make informed publishing decisions, including locating reputable open access journals to submit your manuscripts to.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank — this openly available portal includes indicators to assess and analyse journals including ranking information from the Scopus database.
Journal Citation Reports (A UQ login is required) — evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from Web of Science (Clarivate).
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) — extensive index of fully open access journals and information to assist with the selection process (note: does not cover all open access journals).
Open access resources
Open Access Australasia — provides links to centralised searches for open access research and links to all institutional repositories holding open access material in Australia and New Zealand.
HowOpenIsIt? A Guide for Evaluating the Openness of Journals — provides standardised terminology on open access characteristics such as reader rights, copyright, and author posting rights.
The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) — is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system.
More open access directories
- DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books — this directory aims to improve the discoverability of open access books
- ROAD - Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources — provides a single access point to different types of online scholarly resources published worldwide and freely available
- OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories — is a global directory of academic open access repositories and their policies
- CORE — aggregates open access research outputs from repositories and journals and makes it available to the public
Contact the Librarian team for expert advice.
Systems and tools
- UQ eSpace — manage your scholarly works and share the data
- UQ Research Data Manager — store and manage research data
UQ policies and procedures
- Responsible Research Management Framework Policy
- Authorship Procedure
- Research Data Management Policy
- Open Access for UQ Research Publications Policy
- Open Access for Research Publications Guideline
