Skip to main content

Open Access: Open Access and UQ Researchers

A guide to support UQ researchers to understand the key points of Open Access as an option for publishing journal articles.

Benefits of Open Access

General benefits of open access:

  • Increases the visibility and exposure of your research, thereby creating potential for a higher number of citations.
  • Helps researchers to satisfy the requirements of funding bodies
  • Helps enable the University of Queensland's key research objectives, such as achieving international recognition through high-quality research; encouraging and supporting research collaboration; fostering excellence from young researchers; and enhancing UQ's research environment
  • Provides free online access to research, not restricted to what your organisation can afford

How can I make my publications open access?

Green Open Access Model

1. Green Open Access- no fees for authors

Archive an open access version of your publication in UQ eSpace.

  • Publish in a journal of your choice;
  • Deposit the post-print version of your manuscript intoUQ eSpace- UQ's Institutional Repository, or [subject or discipline-specific repository]. eSpace staff will set a release date that observes any publisher embargoes that may apply to your article. (See here for which version of your paper you should submit.)
  • This complies with UQ OA policy  and the requirements of ARC & NHMRC grant mandates for Open access.

CLICK IMAGE TO VIEW

 

Gold Open Access Model

2. Gold Open Access - article processing charges (APCs)

Publish open access in an online scholarly journal.

  1. Publish in a fully open access journal such as a PLoS journal, BioMed Central journal or eLIFE. 
  2. Pay APC to publisher who makes your article immediately open, findable and accessible to anyone who has a connection to the internet.
  3. Both ARC and NHMRC allow some of their grant allocation to be directed to publications costs such as APCs.

CLICK IMAGE TO VIEW

 

Hybrid Gold Open Access Model

3. Hybrid model of Gold Open Access- least preferred option

Publish in a subscription-based journal, that also offers an immediate open access option for authors who pay an article processing charge.

  1. This will make your article available via the journal's website and open to a broader audience however this model effectively gives the publisher the opportunity to "double dip" into the [limited] pool of research funds:
    • Once through the University paying large subscriptions for access to journals on behalf of the UQ community and,
    • A second time from the researchers (either directly or from a grant allocation) paying the APCs

CLICK IMAGE TO VIEW

 

 

Loading

Find Open Access journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides an extensive index of open access journals and provides further information to assist with the selection process. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a rigorous quality control system and ethical practices to guarantee the content.


SCImago Journal & Country Rank is an openly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database. These indicators can be used to assess and analyze journal and provide ranking and publishing information. Applying a few filters to this information will allow you to identify Q1 open access journals and review the details for over 3800 OA titles.

SJR User Interface

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites (UQ Library subscription access) also allows you to evaluate and compare journal data drawn from approximately 1000 scholarly and technical open access journals and conference proceedings and titles are being regularly reviewed and added to database if deemed high quality publications. Journal Citation Reports includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Information can be analysed using visualisation tools and compared against non-open access titles.